First Holder Cup winners

Andy Holder presents The Holder Cup to the winning team of Jay Cox (middle) and Eric Kelley at the end of the 2018 tournament at The Oaks Country Club. in Greenville. The second annual tournament starts on Saturday.

  Entries are still being accepted for the second annual The Holder Cup golf tournament set for this weekend at The Oaks Country Club in Greenville.

  The two-player, 36-hole tournament, scheduled for Saturday and Sunday, is named for Andy Holder, who’s been a part of The Oaks since his family became members in 1956. Holder served The Oaks for nearly 40 years as a club pro, employee and then general manager.

  Holder is expected to attend the tournament and also award The Holder Cup to the winning team. His son Anthony Holder, who is a club professional, is on the entry list.

  “We want to make this the best nine-hole course in Texas,” said Dr. Jerry Ransom, president of the board of directors at The Oaks. “I want this Holder Cup to put Greenville on the map.”

  The entry fee is $350 per team with a cart rental at $40 each day, per team.

  The cash prizes will pay a minimum of $1,500 for first place, $900 for second and $600 for third but will pay out more according to the number of entries, according to Ransom. The club will be adding to the prize fund.

  The championship and first flight will play low ball both days and the other flights will play a scramble format.

  The golfers will play in morning and afternoon tee times on Saturday and Sunday. Friday will be a practice day.

  The first-time team of Eric Kelley and Jay Cox won the championship flight last year by six strokes with their total of 118 that included a 58 for a scramble the first day and a 60 in low ball the second. Kelley is a local golfer and Cox played golf at North Lamar in high school and at Texas A&M University-Commerce.

  “It’s the only cup I’ve won,” said Kelley, who’s won some other tournaments in Hunt County. “It is special.”

Brady Jones and Andrew Rainey (61-63-124) finished second last year. Ransom said Rainey is on the entry list for this year’s tournament.

  Two teams tied for third in the championshp flight last year at 127: Matt Neyra with Jerry Ransom and Don Williams with Vick Ferrell. Ransom and Neyra are again on the entry list.

  Lance Dunmon and Dallas Peters III won the first flight (65-70-131) by four strokes.

  Trey Sorrells and Chris Phipps (65-68-133) captured the second flight by three strokes and Benny Rico and Pito Arana claimed the third flight (70-72-142) in the inaugural tournament.

  Golfers wanting to enter the tournament can contact The Oak’s interim general manager Cindy Williams at 903-455-3971.

  “They can sign up and pay immediately,” said Williams.

  Some of the other golfers already on the entry list include Scott Wagoner, Julian Bowers, Carl Worley, Shaun Franklin, Keith Bonham and Blake James.

Recommended for you