Royse City’s Pam Arterberry and Rachael Shelton were recognized by District 9-3A coaches as most valuable players for the 2005 volleyball season.

Arterberry, recognized as the district’s MVP hitter, knocked down 482 kills in 129 games for the area champion Lady Bulldogs, who finished with a 28-11 overall record. The 5-9 senior also led the Lady Bulldogs with 190 blocks and 69 service aces while also recording 161 digs.

Shelton set for 778 assists to share the district’s MVP setting honor with Jessica Athey of Princeton. Still in her junior year, Shelton competed in 137 of the 139 games Royse City played this season, more than any other Lady Bulldog athlete. In spite of her busy schedule Shelton kept her grades in check to earn a place on the academic all-district team as well.

Lady Bulldog juniors Ryleigh Lay and Krista Garner each earned first team all-district nods. A 5-9 middle blocker, Lay recorded 364 kills in 128 games. Lay moved seamlessly from offense to defense this season as she recorded 273 digs, 60 aces and 101 blocks.

Garner took on her role as the team’s libero seriously as she thwarted her opponents’ attacks with 329 digs in 124 games played.

Farmersville senior Holly Swank was named the district’s top middle blocker.

Farmersville sophomore Kylie Bishop, also a state qualifier in cross country, earned first-team honors.

Chelci Newton, who last May was a state qualifier in track and field, represented Community on the first team.

Royse City seniors Courtney Tyree and Kelli Osborn made the second team.

Farmersville senior Dyann Varnvakas and Community senior Brittany Wagoner were also selected to the second team.

All-District 9-3A volleyball

Most valuable player — Kristen Catalane, Bonham, Jr.

MVP setters — Rachael Shelton, Royse City, Jr.; Jessica Athey, Princeton, Jr.

MVP hitter — Pam Arterberry, Royse City, Sr.

MVP defense — Kristen Sanders, Bonham, Jr.

Middle blocker — Holly Swank, Farmersville, Sr.

Newcomer of the year — Brittany Zirkelback, Princeton, Soph.

Coach of the year — Robyn Hill, Bonham

Sportsmanship award — Van Alstyne


Bridgette Hubbard, Bonham, Sr.

Tiffany Gunn, Bonham, Jr.

Ryleigh Lay, Royse City, Jr.

Krista Garner, Royse City, Jr.

Brianna Murray, Princeton, Jr.

Brooke Selman, Princeton, Sr.

Katie Smithers, Van Alstyne, Jr.

Kylie Bishop, Farmersville, Soph.

Chelci Newton, Community, Sr.


Lora Dyson, Bonham, Jr.

Heather Hunt, Bonham, Jr.

Courtney Tyree, Royse City, Sr.

Kelli Osborn, Royse City, Sr.

Lisa Causey, Princeton, Sr.

Amber Hill, Princeton, Sr.

Alyssa Auch, Van Alstyne Sr.

Dyann Vamvakas, Farmersville, Sr.

Brittany Wagoner, Community, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Royse City: Lauren Davis, Sr.; Nicole Savage, Jr.

All-district Academic Team

Royse City

Juniors: Krista Garner, Ryleigh Lay, Aundrea Leone, Nicole Savage, Rachael Shelton.

Seniors: Kelli Osborn, Kristi Beaber, Lauren Davis, Amberly Stone, Courtney Tyree.

Trending Video

Recommended for you