Stewart dunk

Texas A&M University-Commerce senior Wayne Stewart, dunking in a Lions' game this season, has been selected to compete in a national slam dunk contest. You can vote for Stewart at

  COMMERCE — Texas A&M University-Commerce’s Wayne Stewart is one of 16 basketball players invited to compete in the “Dark Horse Dunkers” contest.

Stewart, a 6-7 senior from Philadelphia, has thrown down some prolific dunks this season for the 14-8 Lions, who lead their division in the Lone Star Conference.

  Stewart ranks sixth in the LSC in scoring at 19.3 points per game, fifth in rebounding at 7.7 per game and second in field goal percentage (.631).

  Fans will determine the winner by voting daily at throughout the four-week competition.

  Video highlight reels of each competitor on the website will help fans determine their choice in a bracket-style competition on The athlete with the most votes in each matchup will move on to the next round. Voting began on Tuesday and concludes March 13 at 1 p.m. ET. The schedule for each voting round will go as follows:

Round One: Feb. 11 through Feb. 18 at 1 p.m. ET (16 Players)

Quarterfinals: Feb. 19 at 1 p.m. ET through Feb. 26 at 1 p.m. ET (8 Players)

Semifinals: Feb. 27 at 1 p.m. ET through March 5 at 1 p.m. ET (4 Players)

Finals: March 6 at 1 p.m. ET through March 13 at 1 p.m. ET (2 Players)

  The player that ultimately receives the most votes in the final round will be selected to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, an event featuring some of the best college dunkers and 3-point shooters in the country. The 2020 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are set for 7:30 p.m. ET on April 2 at State Farm Arena in Atlanta, with ESPN airing the event in its entirety beginning at 9 p.m.

  The following are the 16 “Dark Horse Dunkers” competing in the contest for their chance to showcase their talents in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships:

Dakota Bennington, Eureka College

Anthony Brown, Lincoln Memorial

Nate Bruneel, College of Idaho

Niquan Cousins, Bluefield College

Isaiah Crawley, Georgia Southern

Tulio Da Silva, Missouri State

Jhonathan Dunn, Southern Nazarene

Emanuel Egbuta, Tennessee State

Josh Hawley, Tarleton State

Danyon Hempy, College of Wooster

Isaiah Hill, Saint Leo University

Shaun Kirk, UNC Pembroke

Ryan Montgomery, Lee University

Wayne Stewart, Texas A&M Commerce

Tyree White, Louisiana Monroe

Darrion Willies, Oklahoma City University

Recommended for you