Running for county judge

Former Hunt County Commissioner Jay Atkins is taking another chance at becoming the next Hunt County Judge, while an incumbent county commissioner is seeking re-election.

Former Hunt County Commissioner Jay Atkins is taking another chance at becoming the next Hunt County Judge, while an incumbent county commissioner is seeking re-election.

Atkins filed Friday to seek the Hunt County Republican Party nomination for the office in next year’s primary election and will be facing incumbent County Judge Bobby Stovall, who is also running.

Eric Evans filed for the party’s nomination in seeking another term as Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 1 and will face Mark Hutchins, who had been the Chairman of the Hunt County Republican Party, for the nomination.

Charlie Stewart fled Friday for the GOP nomination for Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 3, where he will face incumbent Commissioner Phillip Martin, who is seeking another term.

Atkins, who had served as Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 2 from 2011 until he chose not to seek re-election in 2014 and was replaced by Tod McMahan, was one of 10 people, alongside Stovall, who applied for the county judge post, which was vacated by the sudden death of former County Judge John Horn in September, 2018.

Atkins said he was running because most of the issues he was trying to correct while in office still persisted, as he claimed outdated practices and inefficiencies, along with what he feels is spending by the current commissioners court without providing the public adequate explanations, have cost the county’s taxpayers millions of dollars.

“People are fed up and it has got to stop,” Atkins said, while he promised if elected he would install a publicly accessible cell phone where he can be contacted whenever anyone wishes to contact him.

“If they call, I’ll be there to listen,” he said.

Filing for the March 3, 2020 Democratic and Republican Party primary elections continues through 6 p.m. Monday.

Almost all of the candidates who have filed in Hunt County so far have been Republican.

Other incumbents in Hunt County filing for nominations for the GOP primary have included 354th District Court Judge Keli Aiken, Tax Assessor Collector Randy Wineinger, District Attorney Noble D. Walker Jr. and Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Place 1 Wayne Money.

Seeking Republican Party nominations to offices which will be vacated in 2021 are Terry Jones and Kirby Dean Luke for Hunt County Sheriff; Joel Littlefield for Hunt County Court at Law No. 2: G Calvin Grogan V, Elisha Hollis and Scott Cornuaud  for County Attorney; Jeff Haines, Richy Valenzuela and Joe Sterner for Constable Precinct 1, Michael Benson for Constable Precinct 2, Joel Gibson, Wade Sheets and Bradley Lumpkin for Constable Precinct 3 and Matthew Regan for Constable Precinct 4.

The Hunt County Republican Party will be hosting a candidate filing event between 2 and 6 p.m. Monday at the Audie Murphy Meeting Room in the W. Walworth Harrison Public Library in Greenville.

Democratic Party candidates in Hunt County who had filed for next year’s primaries as of Friday included Larry P. Davis for Hunt County Democratic Party Chairman and Glenn Stone for Constable Precinct 1.

Representative John Ratcliffe (R-Texas) has filed for his third term representing Texas’ 4th District in the U.S. House of Representatives. Russell Foster, an IT Technician from Sherman had filed for the Democratic Party nomination for the office.

Representative Dan Flynn has filed for re-election to House District 2 which includes Hunt, Hopkins and Van Zandt counties and will face Dwayne “Doc” Collins, a veterinarian from Ben Wheeler for the Republican Party nomination.

Candidates seeking an office in a particular county will file with their respective county Democratic or Republican Party offices. Candidates whose jurisdiction covers multiple counties file with the state party offices.

Feb. 3, 2020 is the last day to register to vote for the primary elections. Early voting is scheduled Feb 8-28, 2020.

Recommended for you