The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Top News

July 1, 2012

Deadline Monday to register to vote in primary runoffs

GREENVILLE — Republican voters in Hunt County still have some choices to make, as there will be several county and state level races on the July 31 GOP runoff election ballot.

Local Democratic Party voters also have to decide who will be their candidate for the United States Senate in the November general election.

Monday is the last day to register to vote in the runoff, with early voting scheduled July 23-27.

Individuals who voted in the May 29 Democratic Party primary election will not be allowed to vote in the Republican Party runoff and vice versa. Anyone who did not vote in either of the primaries can vote in either the Republican or Democratic primary runoff elections.

The runoff contest for Hunt County Tax Assessor Collector will be between Randy Wineinger and John Clark. Wineinger received 4,157 votes (48.34 percent) in last month’s Republican primary, while Clark received 1,925 votes (22.39 percent). As none of the four candidates seeking the office received more than 50 percent of the vote, the two candidates receiving the most votes moved to a runoff.

The runoff will likely decide who will be the next tax assessor, as there are no Democratic Party, independent, third party or potential write-in candidates in the running for the November 6 general election.

Eric Evans and Mike Pierce will face each other in the GOP runoff for Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 1. Evans gained 898 votes (36.44 percent) to Pierce’s 764 votes (31.01 percent). The runoff winner will face Democrat Jerry Minter in November.

Incumbent Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Place 1 Sandy Lane Berger will face Wayne Money in the runoff. Berger received 1,775 votes (32.33 percent) to Money’s 1,578 votes (28.74 percent).

There will also be a runoff on July 31 for Hunt County Republican Party chairman. Incumbent David Hale collected 3,406 votes (47.8 percent) Tuesday to David Renshaw’s 2,712 votes (38.06 percent).

There are three statewide Republican Party runoff races on July 31, including the contest for United States Senate between David Dewhurst and Ted Cruz.

Voters will choose the Republican nominee for Railroad Commissioner between Christi Craddick and Warren Chisum and for an unexpired Railroad Commission seat between Barry Smitherman and Greg Parker.

There is also a Republican Party runoff election race for Justice Supreme Court Place 4 between David Medina and John Devine.

There are no county races in the July 31 Democratic Party runoff election, which features a contest for the nominee for United States Senate between Paul Sadler and Grady Yarbrough.

Text Only
Top News
House Ads
Featured Ads

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Real Estate News