The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

March 5, 2014

Horn, Bench, McMahan win seats

Herald-Banner Staff

— Hunt County Judge John Horn won re-election Tuesday, while a new 196th District Court Judge was selected during Tuesday’s Republican Party primary.

A new face was also chosen Tuesday to fill the seat of the Hunt County Commissioner for Precinct 2.

The unofficial final vote totals released by the Hunt County Voter Administration Office revealed Horn had received 4,345 votes (55.96 percent) to Jerry Minter’s 3.420 votes (44.04 percent).

As there were no Democratic Party candidates, and no independent or write-in candidates, for Horn to face in November, Horn effectively won another term in office.

“I think it was definitely a hard fought race,” Horn said. “I’ve done everything I can do to make a positive impact on our county, and I will continue to do so. I’m very pleased about the outcome.”

The 196th District Court race in the Republican primary was between the incumbent, Judge Steve Tittle, and County Court at Law No. 1 Judge Andrew Bench. Bench claimed 4,912 votes (60.49 percent) to best Tittle’s 3,208 votes (39.51 percent).

With no opposition on the November ballot, Bench won the seat during the primary. Both judges will remain in their current positions until the start of the term on Jan. 1, 2015.

“I want to thank all of my supporters for everything they did to help make this victory possible,” Bench said. “I’ve been very gratified and humbled by the support I have been shown by the citizens of Hunt County. I will strive to be the best district judge I can be.”

Perhaps the closest race of the night was for the office of Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 2. As the incumbent, Jay Atkins, chose not to seek re-election, the contest was between Tod McMahan and Andy Hunt. McMahan received 932 votes (51.86 percent) to Hunt’s 865 votes (48.14 percent). Again, with no opposition on the ballot in November, McMahan won the seat outright, but will not take office until next January 1.

Incumbent Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Place 2 Shelia Linden won another term, defeating Wayne Gilmore in the GOP primary. Linden received 2,611 votes (57.18 percent) to Gilmore’s 1,955 votes (42.82 percent).

The District Clerk’s race was also decided during the Republican primary. Incumbent Stacey Landrum received 6,518 votes (89.98 percent) to Charla “Twins” Campbell-Turner’s 726 votes (10.02 percent).

Timothy Linden claimed the office of County Court at Law No. 1 Judge. Linden was unopposed on the Republican Party primary ballot and also faced no opposition in November.

Several other candidates were running without opposition in the Republican primary, also claiming victories with no candidates to face in November. They included incumbent State Representative for District 2 Dan Flynn, incumbent County Clerk Jennifer Lindenzweig, incumbent County Treasurer Delores Shelton, incumbent Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 Aaron Williams and Incumbent Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 David H. McNabb Jr.

Two incumbent candidates won re-election in Tuesday’s Democratic primary. County Commissioner Precinct 4 Jim Latham and Justice of the Peace Place 2 Jennifer Reeves were unopposed on the Democratic Party ballot and face no opposition in November.