The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

April 1, 2014

Preparing for a robot war

GHS, GMS teams heading to U.S. Open Championships

Herald-Banner Staff

GREENVILLE — Teams of robot-building Greenville Independent School District students will be heading to Nebraska this week, to participate in the  CREATE U.S. Open Robotics Championship.

Three students from Greenville High School and 19 Greenville Middle School students will be competing in the event.

The Iron Cowboys Team 4148B from Greenville High School and The Gigabots Team 2148 from Greenville Middle School will be departing Thursday and will be returning Sunday. Both teams participate in the VEX “Toss Up” game.

“Toss Up” is played on a 12-foot-by-12-foot-square field. Two alliances – one “red” and one “blue” – composed of two teams each, compete in matches consisting of a fifteen second autonomous period followed by one minute and forty-five seconds of driver- controlled play.

The object of the game is to attain a higher score than the opposing Alliance by Scoring your colored BuckyBalls and Large Balls into the Middle Zone and Goal Zone, by Stashing your colored BuckyBalls and Large Balls into the Goals, and by Hanging or Hanging With A Ball, at various heights, off your colored Bar at the end of the match.

Although it sounds pretty complicated, the tournaments can get very intense and can push each team’s robots to the limit.

The Gigabots and Iron Cowboys conducted scrimmage matches Monday afternoon, their final dress rehearsal before this weekend’s championship.

The CREATE Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization dedicated to aiding educational organizations, students, teachers and mentors in advancing education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM).

The Foundation and actively supports and hosts scrimmages and tournaments, including the Robotics Championship of the Americas.

The Iron Cowboys Team 4148B is comprised of Adriana Tucker, Tyler Behrens, Christopher Dennis and Chaperone Joel Pitts. The Gigabots Team 2148 is comprised of Isiah Dean, Xavier Dean, Corey Hargraves, Nicholas Hazlett and Carlos Riveroll. Team 2148B includes Xachary Aguilar, Xayne Aguilar, Trenton Burns and Ethan McGee. Team 2148F includes Alexandrea Bahm, Eleanor Hill, Katie Tolly, Lydia Shatney and Alysia Martinez. And Team 2148K is comprised of Garrett Packer, Jousha Ross, Kacie Weeks, Tessa Mitchell and Edgar Ramirez.

Coaches include Orion Casper and Alexis Peterson and Johnny Tharp, the District Robotics Facilator and Instructor is the Administrator.