The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

December 16, 2012

Four Greenville Lions make first or second team in 13-4A


Herald-Banner Staff

GREENVILLE —   Four Greenville Lions made either the first or second team of the All-District 13-4A football team.

  Junior Dillon Stevens, who helped anchor the offensive line, was the only Lion to make the first offense.

  Junior end John Franklin, one of the Lions’ top pass rushers, was the only Greenville player selected for the first defense.

  Senior quarterback Marquist Davis made the second offense. Davis led the Lions in rushing with 632 yards and four touchdowns on 154 carries and was 53-of-116 passing for 502 yards and four touchdowns. He also punted 34 times for a 31.0-yard average.

  Senior wide receiver Eric Quiroz earned second-team honors though missing the early part of the season with an injury. Quiroz caught 12 passes for 165 yards and three touchdowns.

  Four Lions also made the honorable mention list, including offensive linemen D.J. Mayes and Kyle Crumpton, defensive lineman Shaquille Anderson and defensive back Layne White.

  Royse City wide receiver Michael Webb and safety Deonte Reed made the first team.

  Royse City running back Samuell Rushing, tight end Bryce Wempa and lineman Brandon Martinez made the second offense.

  Bulldog end Jared Loftis made the second defense.

  Sherman’s talented wide receiver J.T. Luper claimed the most valuable player award.

  The offensive MVP honor went to Sherman quarterback Dru Smith, while Lucas Lovejoy senior Slayton Shiels claimed the defensive MVP award.