The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

December 10, 2013

Lone Oak quarterback earns top 7-2A honors

Herald-Banner Staff

Lone Oak — Lone Oak sophomore quarterback Jake Williams, who led the 7-4 Buffaloes to a playoff spot, earned newcomer of the year honors on the All-District 7-2A Division I football team.

Williams threw for 2,585 yards and 36 touchdowns with just eight interceptions. He was a unanimous selection.

Three of the Buffaloes’ top receivers earned first-team honors on offense, seniors Ryan Basye, Trent Sikes and Brett Loeffler.

Three more Buffaloes made the first-team offense, including running back Devin Shaw, tight end Chawn Cooper and offensive lineman Christian White.

Three Buffaloes made the top defense, including lineman Manuel Leon, Sikes at linebacker and Bayse in the secondary.

Lone Oak offensive linemen Colton Busby and Eli Gammage earned second-team hoors.

Lone Oak’s second-team defensive selections included lineman Jeffry Jones, linebacker River Tolleson and Loeffler in the secondary.

All-District 7-2A Football Team

Most valuable player — *Damontes Dowell, Malakoff, 175, Sr.

Offensive MVP — Sheyanne Thompson, Winnsboro, Sr.

Defensive MVPs — Israel Chavez, Malakoff, Sr; Elijah Click, Quitman, Sr.

Newcomer of the year — *Jake Williams, Lone Oak, Soph.

Utility player of the year — Braylon Cable, Malakoff, Jr.

Offensive linemen of the year — Thomas Hyde, Eustace, 290, Jr.; Israel Chavez, Malakoff, 280, Sr.

Defensive lineman of the year — *Zack Hughes, Eustace, 215, Jr.

Coaching staff of the year — Malakoff


QB    *Corey Watkins        Kemp        175    Jr.

RB    *Marcus Dowell        Malakoff        195    Jr.

RB    Devin Shaw        Lone Oak        180    Jr.

RB    David Santoy        Winnsboro        160    Sr.

FB    Jesus Barcenas        Eustace        180    Sr.

FB    Jesus Ramirez        Quitman        185    Sr.

FB    Tedrick Shephard        Winnsboro        160    Jr.

WR    Braxton Allison        Kemp        160    Sr.

WR    Ryan Basye        Lone Oak        175    Sr.

WR    Trent Sikes        Lone Oak        170    Sr.

WR    Brett Loeffler        Lone Oak        180    Jr.

WR    Ken. Hornbuckle        Malakoff        140    Jr.

WR    Dariuhn Jackson        Malakoff        160    Sr.

TE    Chawn Cooper        Lone Oak        190    Sr.

TE    Quinton King        Winnsboro        190    Jr.

OL    *Tyson Gearner        Winnsboro        205    Jr.

OL    *Zack Hughes        Eustace        215    Jr.

OL    Diego Medina        Malakoff        230    Sr.

OL    Thomas Acol        Malakoff        320    Sr.

OL    Bobby Wells        Quitman        285    Sr.

OL    Cody Neal        Grand Saline    245    Sr.

OL    Christian White        Lone Oak        240    Sr.


DL    *Thomas Hyde        Eustace        290    Jr.

DL    Nick Bullock        Winnsboro        220    Sr.

DL    Manuel Leon        Lone Oak        220    Sr.

DL    Marcus Dowell        Malakoff        195    Jr.

DL    Collin Binkert        Quitman        225    Sr.

LB    Ollice Rogers        Kemp        190    Sr.

LB    Trent Sikes        Lone Oak        160    Sr.

LB    Jordan Harris        Malakoff        190    Sr.

LB    Tedrick Shephard        Winnsboro        160    Jr.

LB    Abed Abuhatab        Eustace        160    Sr.

DB    *Ryan Basye        Lone Oak        175    Sr.

DB    *Terrance Scott        Malakoff        175    Sr.

DB    Lucas Pinnell        Winnsboro    1    50    So.

DB    Ryan Brown        Eustace        150    Sr.

DB    Garrian McCallister        Malakoff        130    Sr.

DB    Austin Dobbs        Quitman        165    Sr.

*Unanimous selection


QB    Daniel Davis        Quitman        165    Sr.

RB    Colby Peak        Quitman        190    Sr.

RB    Will Villalobos        Winnsboro        130    Sr.

WR    Cal Hukil    l    Kemp        155    Jr.

WR    Ethan O’Donnell        Grand Saline    180    Sr.

WR    Jared Givens        Malakoff        170    Jr.

TE    Forrest Lane        Eustace        200    Sr.

OL    Nelson Ochoa        Malakoff        250    Jr.

OL    Hill Norris        Quitman        200    Jr.

OL    Cain Langhoff        Winnsboro        190    Jr.

OL    Maverick McDowell        Kemp        190    Jr.

OL    Colton Busby        Lone Oak        255    Sr.

OL    Eli Gammage        Lone Oak        210    Jr.


DL    J.T. Taylor        Quitman        195    Jr.

DL    Cody McLemore        Winnsboro        250    Sr.

DL    John Forest        Kemp        200    Jr.

DL    Jeffery Jones        Lone Oak        185    jr.

DL    Colton Barker        Malakoff        240    So.

LB    David Santoy        Winnsboro        160    Sr.

LB    River Tolleson        Lone Oak        175    So.

LB    Jared Givens        Malakoff        170    Jr.

LB    Colby Peak        Quitman        190    Sr.

DB    Lane Davis        Grand Saline    160    Jr.

DB    Daniel Garcia        Kemp        165    Sr.

DB    Brett Loeffler        Lone Oak        180    Jr.

DB    Dariuhn Jackson        Malakoff        160    Sr.

DB    Quinton King        Winnsboro        190    Jr.



PK    Jesus Ramirez        Quitman        185    Sr.

PK    Omar Gonzalez        Malakoff        160    Jr.

P    Jonathon Laprade        Grand Saline    190    Jr.    P    Ryan Brown        Eustace        150    Sr.

PR    Dariuhn Jackson        Malakoff        160    Sr.


PK    Ryan Brown        Eustace        150    Sr.

PK    Julio Olivarria        Winnsboro        160    Jr.


Lone Oak: OL Eric Shaw, DL Coleton Lasseter, OL Austin Jones, DB Jonah Carson.