The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

June 20, 2013

A&M-Commerce’s Davis, Robertson named LSC Scholar-Athletes

Herald-Banner Staff

COMMERCE — The Lone Star Conference announced earlier this month the recipients of the 2012-13 Scholar-Athletes Award as men’s basketball’s Andrew Davis and volleyball’s Rachel Robertson pick up the recognition for A&M-Commerce.

Each academic year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at each member institution. These student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.

To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and must have exhausted their athletic eligibility.

Davis was named the Lone Star Conference’s Academic Athlete of the Year for men’s basketball on the heels of being named a first team Capital One Academic All-American.

One of the constants in the lineup for the Lions, he ranked among the LSC leaders in rebounding and field goal percentage, helping A&M-Commerce advance to the LSC Championships for the ninth-straight year. A 4.00 student, Davis graduated this past May with a degree in accounting.

Robertson had a stellar season both on and off the court for A&M-Commerce, being named a Capital One Academic All-District selection and named to the LSC Volleyball All-Academic Team. Robertson capped her career by being named the LSC Offensive Player of the Year, leading the LSC and ranking among the national leaders in hitting percentage, points and kills, while finishing her time in Commerce ranked third on the all-time kills list. She also earned her degree in sociology in May and will serve as a graduate assistant coach at Washburn University beginning this summer.

Besides representing each of the league’s 11 member institutions, this year’s recipients represent 14 of the 18 sports that are sponsored by the conference.  Baseball, basketball and tennis had the most Scholar-Athletes with three each, while six sports had two selections each.

2012-13 Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients

A&M-Commerce: Rachel Robertson (volleyball) and Andrew Davis (men’s basketball)

Abilene Christian: Julie Coppedge (soccer) and Hans Hach (men’s tennis)

Angelo State: Alex Woolsey (volleyball) and Andrew LaCombe (baseball)

Cameron: Julia Puckhaber (women’s tennis) and Trey Lawson (men’s golf)

Eastern New Mexico: Hannah Altheide (women’s basketball) and Michael Stewart (men’s soccer)

Incarnate Word: Julia Cardenas (swimming) and Mark Rubin (swimming)

Midwestern State: Kendra Whittley (women’s golf) and Luke Joyce (men’s tennis)

Tarleton State: Kyndall Trnka (track and field/cross country) and Miguel Ramirez (baseball)

Texas A&M-Kingsville: Kaitlyn Lowen (women’s basketball) and Chris Ballou (baseball)

Texas Woman’s: Jordan Readicker (softball)

West Texas A&M: Meghan Slattery (softball) and Aaron Mullane (football)