The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

July 24, 2013

Ty McKinney earns Class 2A all-state honors


From staff and AP reports
Herald-Banner Staff

BRYAN, Texas —   Pick a spot, any of five spots.

  That was the story for Leonard junior Ty McKinney, who earned first-team all-state honors for one of the five positions he played this past baseball season for the Tigers. McKinney, who played pitcher, shortstop, third base, left field and designated hitter, made it as a DH on the Texas Sports Writers Association Class 2A all-state team. He batted .419 for the season with 15 doubles, four triples and 25 runs batted in.

  McKinney was 7-1 as a pitcher in District 12-2 play with two saves. He finished the season with a 0.86 earned run average, striking out 69 batters in 65 innings for the 19-13 Tigers, who advanced to the second round of the state playoffs. McKinney pitched a no-hitter during Leonard’s 12-0 victory over Whitesboro in a bi-district playoff game.

  McKinney said he was very excited to learn of the all-state honor on Tuesday.

  “It gives me high expectations for next year,” said McKinney. “I give myself high expectations anyway. It just makes it a little higher.”

  Pitcher-second baseman Reagan McAda, who led Hallettsville to the state championship, is the Class 2A player of the year. McAda was 10-0 with a 1.21 earned-run average. He had 101 strikeouts in 81 innings. He also batted .354 with 37 runs batted in.

                      Here is the Texas Sports Writers

              Association’s Class 2A state baseball team:

                FIRST TEAM

  Pitchers — Dylan Moore, Hughes Springs, jr.; Reagan McAda, Hallettsville, sr.; Zach Bassham, Hughes Springs, sr.

  Catcher — (tie) Victor Garza, Marion, sr. and Chad McKinney, Hughes Springs, jr.

  First baseman — Will Wallace, Hallettsville, sr.

  Second baseman — Stratton Bocanegra, Childress, sr.

  Shortstop — Carson Schindler, Hallettsville, sr.

  Third baseman — Jacob Cheatham, Elkhart, sr.

  Outfielders — Cody Hawkins, Hughes Springs, sr.; Ty Slanina, East Bernard, sr.; Chris Jones, Hallettsville, sr.

  Designated hitter — Ty McKinney, Leonard, jr.

  Player of the Year — Reagan McAda, Hallettsville, sr.

  Coach of the Year — Shorty Cook, Hallettsville


  Pitchers — Joseph Rubio, Bishop, sr.; Casey Frazier, Salado, jr.; Travis Quintanilla, Refugio, jr.

  Catcher — Levi Smith, Elkhart, sr.

  First baseman — Jacob Miller, Childress, sr.

  Second baseman — Tre Lambert, Marion, jr.

  Shortstop — Wesley Phillips, Sunnyvale, jr.

  Third baseman — Kleat Smith, Idalou, jr.

  Outfielders — Shay Phillips, Brock, sr.; Logan LeDane, Tom Bean, jr.; Nic Shimonek, Mildred, sr.

  Designated hitter — Lane Oliver, Wall, soph.

        THIRD TEAM

  Pitchers — Peyton Brown, Wall, jr.; Aaron Keller, Bangs, sr.; (tie) Mikey Wade, Pottsboro, sr. and Jon Malmin, Troy, sr

  Catcher — Kyle Whitley, Troy, jr.

  First baseman — Hayden Besetzny, Schulenburg, sr.

  Second baseman — Tyler Lowe, Palmer, sr.

  Shortstop — Jon Franz, Salado, sr.

  Third basemen — (tie) Nate Kowalik, Hallettsville, soph. and Marshall Mann, Salado, sr.

  Outfielders — C.J. Ateek, Gunter, sr.; Garrett Powers, Wall, sr.; Ryan Payne, Centerville, sr.

  Designated hitter — Derek Cantu, George West, sr.