The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Breaking News


May 20, 2012

District girls soccer champs honor their coach

GREENVILLE —   Greenville’s District 19-4A girls soccer champions officially said goodbye to their coach during the Greenville High School Athletic Banquet on Saturday night.

  The Lady Lions, who finished at 22-2-2 for the season including their second straight district championship, presented their departing head coach Ryan Dunlevy with a gift basket during the banquet put on by the Lions Athletic Booster Club. Dunlevy is heading to Midland to coach girls soccer.

  Marvin Sedberry, back for his third stint as head coach and athletic director of the Lions, addressed the crowd in the Paul Mathews Auditorium.

  “It feels good to be back,” he said.

  Sedberry told the student-athletes that to be successful takes commitment.

  “When you commit to something that means you’re all in,” he said.

  He said he’s there to provide leadership not only for the coaches but the student-athletes.

Sedberry coached the Lions from 1992-2000 and from 2002-2003. guiding them to five district football championships, five bi-district titles, two regional titles and to eight playoff berths.

  Quarterback Shay Sellers and defensive end Max Noriega were presented the offensive and defensive most valuable player awards for the past football season.

  Shortstop Sidney Tippit earned the MVP award for softball.

  Shot putter Mackenzie Cooper and sprinter Elcherri Neal shared the MVP honor in girls track and field.

  The boys track and field MVP honor went both to sprinter Alfred Champion and shot putter-discus thrower Hunter Smith.

  Austin Martin captured the boys powerlifting MVP award and the girls powerlifting honor went to Rosa Castillo.

  William Strickland and Ryan Litchfield shared the boys golf MVP honor.

  Hannah Bench captured the girls MVP golf award.

  Franki Aisporna earned the MVP honor in boys tennis and girls honor went to Laura Boshart and Kacie Vance.

  Team tennis MVP awards went to Connor Mulkey and Lauryn Prather.

Miguel Sanchez and Shay Sellers shared the boys soccer MVP award and the girls honor went to Maddy Crabtree.

  Kenneth Neal earned the Ken Gibson award in boys basketball.

  MacKenzie Cooper claimed the girls MVP award in basketball.

  Cross country MVP honors went to Israel Loredo and Jennifer Martinez.

  Maygan Bloyed was awarded the MVP honor in volleyball.

  Justin Koger and Chris Hazlett shared the Monty Stratton Award.

  Henry Neal, Harry Bond and Doug Hooten were recognized as new members of the GHS Athletic Hall of Honor.

  Kody Crumpton, president of the Lion Athletic Booster Club, recognized the club’s top volunteers.


Text Only
  • Oliver Hale three medals.jpg Hail to the winner of three medals at Transplant Games

      His nickname in Greenville is “Pee Wee,” but Oliver Hale is a big man on the tennis court and in the kitchen.
      Hale, who is a 1971 graduate of Greenville High School, won three medals at the 2014 Transplant Games of America recently in Houston while competing in the 60-and-over age category. He won a gold medal in men’s doubles, a silver in men’s singles and a bronze in mixed doubles along with playing partner Irena Bucci.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Colby Carthel Free youth football camp planned

    Second year Texas A&M University – Commerce Head Coach Colby Carthel and his coaching staff will be the directors of a free A&M Commerce Youth Football Camp.

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Carver.jpg Officially for the record

    Two former Greenville schools are now officially recognized for their accomplishments in sports through new signage at the T. A. “Cotton” Ford Stadium.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • LeBron_James_18112009_1.jpg LeBron: I'm heading back to Cleveland

    Before anyone ever cared where I would play basketball, I was a kid from Northeast Ohio.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0000066_official_dixie_softball_patch_300.jpg Commerce to host Dixie Softball tournament

    The city of Commerce has partnered with the Dixie Softball to host the Darlings and the Debs Softball State Tournament at the Eddie Moore Sports Complex again this year.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Campbell Lady Indians listen 1.jpg Coach Steve Guffey touched many lives

      Steve Guffey was a true sportsman in every sense of the word.
      Guffey, who died on Saturday at the age of 50, was a standout athlete and coach, who was also an avid golfer, angler and hunter. He was an educator. teacher, mentor and a friend to many who’ve been paying their tributes online and at candlelight vigils on Sunday in Ladonia and on Monday in Campbell.  Guffey’s memorial service is set for 2 p.m. Wednesday in the Campbell High School gymnasium, where he coached the Lady Indians’ basketball team the past 12 years.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason Burton.JPG A&M-Commerce hires Burton as women’s basketball coach

    Lion women’s basketball experienced a homecoming of sorts on April when athletics director Ryan Ivey announced Jason Burton as the eighth women’s basketball coach in program history.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lone Oak, Caddo Mills softball players make all-state team

      Two players from Lone Oak and one from Caddo Mills earned second-team honors on the Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 2A all-state softball team.

    July 1, 2014

  • Kevin Bowers chip 1.jpg Former Baylor golfers win Monster Ball golf tourney

       Baylor University was well-represented at the third annual Craig Bowers Memorial Monster Ball golf tournament this weekend in Greenville.
      Two teams composed of former Baylor golfers finished first and second after 36 holes at Wright Park Municipal and Oak Creek Country Club.

    June 24, 2014 8 Photos

  • Billy Sheffield chips II.jpg Baylor exes lead way at Monster Ball golf tourney

      Four former Baylor golfers sit atop the leaderboard after Saturday’s opening round of the third annual Craig Bowers Memorial Monster Ball Golf Tournament in Greenville.
      Baylor-exes Colton Williams and Jeremy Frye teamed up to shoot a 15-under 57 on two trips around the nine-hole Wright Park Municipal Course layout to lead the championship flight by two shots over former Baylor Bears Drew McGee and Michael McKinley.

    June 22, 2014 9 Photos

House Ads
Featured Ads

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
AP Video
Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Real Estate News