The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

May 26, 2013

Greenville's Koger earns first-team honors


Herald-Banner Staff

GREENVILLE —   Greenville catcher Justin Koger represented the Lions on the first team of the All-District 13-4A baseball team.

  Koger was the Lions’ only first-team selection.

  Greenville pitcher Luke Dyer made the second team.

  Royse City pitcher Calton Warner, outfielder Skyler Ward and utility player Dylan McCain were first-team selections.

  Royse City catcher Mason Spracklen made the second team along with first baseman Jon Ochoa, shortstop Jaylen Milton and third baseman Dylan Youngblood.

  District champion McKinney North claimed most of the top honors, with Anthony Herrera as most valuable player, Justin Stevenson as defensive player of the year, Julian Pope as newcomer of the year and Jim Gatewood as coach of the year.

        All-District 13-4A Baseball Team

  Most valuable player — *Anthony Herrera, McKinney North.

  Offensive player of the year — *Tanner DeVinny, Lucas Lovejoy.

  Pitcher of the year — Bryar Barnes, Wylie East.

  Defensive player of the year — Justin Stevenson, McKinney North.

  Newcomer of the year — Julian Pope, McKinney North.

  Coach of the year — Jim Gatewood, McKinney North.

*Unanimous selections

              FIRST TEAM

P    *Garrett McCain           Wylie East

P    *Logan Michaels           Lucas Lovejoy

P    Gabe Constantine        McKinney North

P    Case Rolen                  Sherman

P    Calton Warner              Royse City

C    Justin Koger                Greenville

C    Will Olson                    Sherman

1B    *Preston Speers        McKinney North

2B    *Davis Wieck             Sherman

SS    Montana Sadler        McKinney North

3B    Taylor Neitsh             Lucas Lovejoy

OF    *Zach Reeves           Sherman

OF    *Skyler Ward             Royse City

OF    Jesse Brubaker        Wylie East

OF    Austin Turnbow        Lucas Lovejoy

U    Dylan McCain             Royse City

DH    Andrew Spencer      Wylie

*Unanimous selections


P    Luke Dyer                   Greenville

P    Tyler Hughey               Wylie East

P    Kyle McGuinness        Lucas Lovejoy

P    Will Menta                   Denison

P    Michael Parker            Denison

C    Mason Spracklen        Royse City

C    Jake Walters               Denison

1B    Jon Ochoa                Royse City

2B    Mason Knapp           Wylie East

SS    Jaylen Milton            Royse City

3B    Dylan Youngblood    Royse City

OF    Kyle Berger              Lucas Lovejoy

OF    Drew Marr                Denison

OF    Trey Segui                McKinney North

OF    Clay Stubblefield      Dension

U    Darius Carter              Wylie

U    Travis Scalf                McKinney North

DH    Jacob Padilla         Wylie East


Greenville: P Travis Koger, P Chris Hazlett.