The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

March 17, 2013

Bradshaw heads up all-District 14-3A team


Herald-Banner Staff

GREENVILLE —   Rains’ 6-6 senior Klara Bradshaw, who led the Ladycats to the district basketball championship, earned most valuable player honors in District 14-3A.

  Bradshaw, who has signed with Texas Christian University, produced a number of triple-doubles this season in points, rebounds and blocked shots. She blocked 22 and 19 shots in two games this season and scored 20 or more points in many of the Lady Wildcats’ games.

  Denise Yankie of Rains also claimed coach of the year honors.

  Quinlan Ford junior Jessica Keeton earned the offensive MVP award after helping the Lady Panthers to third place and a playoff spot.

  Ford freshman Carley Torbert claimed the newcomer of the year award.

  The defensive MVP honor went to Briana Whisenhunt of Crandall.

  Cortney Anderson and Shye Meador-McCray from Rains also made the first team as did Quinlan Ford’s Taylor Elrod.

  Molly Carista, Hannah Dickens and Chelsea Wilson of Rains made the second team.

  Shelby Reeves from Ford was also a second-team selection.

                All-District 14-3A

           Girls Basketball Team

  Most valuable player — Klara Bradshaw, Rains, Sr.

  Offensive MVP — Jessica Keeton, Quinlan Ford, Jr.

  Defensive MVP — Briana Whisenhunt, Crandall, Sr.

  Newcomer of the year — Carley Torbert, Quinlan Ford, Fr.

  Coach of the year — Denise Yankie, Rains.

                   FIRST TEAM

Alex Harris                               Crandall               Jr.

Brooke Wyble                          Crandall               Jr.

Shabronda Prox                       Kaufman              Sr.

Taylor Elrod                              Quinlan Ford        Sr.

Cortney Anderson                    Rains                    Jr.

Shye Meador-McCray              Rains                   Jr.   

Emily Levy                               Wills Point            Sr.

Dawneasha Raibon                 Wills Point            Sr.

                    SECOND TEAM

Demi Frazier                            Crandall               So.

Jaycee Fourkiller                     Crandall                Sr.   

Tara Woodham                        Crandall                Jr.   

Haley Waugh                           Kaufman               Sr.

Shelby Reeves                        Quinlan Ford        Sr.

Molly Carista                            Rains                   Jr.

Hannah Dickens                      Rains                   So.

Chelsea Wilson                       Rains                    So.

Norma Cunigan                       Wills Point            So.

Destini Spencer                       Wills Point            Sr.


  Crandall: Mallory Pettijohn, Sr.

  Kaufman: Destiny Prox, Sr.

  Quinlan Ford: Ariel Hernandez, Jr.

  Rains: Carley Hill, Jr.; Megan Hazelwood, So.

  Wills Point: Tamera Burch, Sr.


  Crandall: Demi Frazier, So.; Breanna Barber, So.; Briana Whisenhunt, S.r; Tara Woodham, Sr.; Rhonda Locke, Sr.; Alex Harris, Jr.; Madison Hollaway, Sr.; Brooke Wyble, Jr.; Cheyenne Cashwell, So.; Mallory Pettijohn, Sr.

  Kaufman: Destiny Prox, Sr.; Shabronda Prox, Sr.

  Rains: Klara Bradshaw, Sr.; Alice Elenes, Sr.; Cortney Anderson, Jr.; Molly Carista, Jr.; Carley Hill, Jr.; Shye Meador-McCray, Jr.; Hannah Dickens, So.; Megan Hazelwood, So.; Hailey Lawson, So.; Chelsea Wilson, So.

  Wills Point: Emily Levy, Sr.; Baylee Gooch, Sr.; Holly Cunigan, Sr.; Dawnesha Raibon, Sr.; Destini Spencer, Sr.

  Quinlan Ford: Shelby Reeves, Sr.; Jenna Reeves, So.; Ariel Smith, Sr.; Courtney Hall, Jr.; Christhian Hearn, Sr.