The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

June 11, 2014

Five area athletes earn first team all-district honors

Herald-Banner Staff

— Four Wolfe City Wolves and a Bland Tiger earned first-team honors on the All-District 16-A baseball team.

Wolfe City’s selections included junior infielder Brandon Fisk, senior outfielder Malik Gaffney, freshman pitcher Dawson Caldwell and senior catcher Justin Wilkinson. All four were unanimous selections.

Bland senior infielder Brayton Godwin was also a unanimous selection to the first team.

Trenton’s district champions claimed two of the top honors with Bailey Burk as most valuable player and Cody Lambright as offensive player of the year.

The top defensive award went to Dodd City’s Kyle Turner.

All-District 16-A baseball

Most valuable player — *Bailey Burk, Trenton, Sr.

Offensive player of the year — *Cody Lambright, Trenton, Sr.

Defensive player of the year — *Kyle Turner, Dodd City, Sr.

Pitcher of the year — Houston Holland, Blue Ridge, So.

Newcomer of the year — Lane Hardy, Dodd City, So.


IF    *Brayton Godwin         Bland            Sr.

IF    *Dalton Russell        Sam Rayburn        Jr.

IF    *Brandon Fisk        Wolfe City        Jr.

IF    *Thomas Weatherford    Blue Ridge        Sr.

IF    *Hunter Vaught        Dodd City        Jr.

IF    *Josh DeGregorio        Dodd City        Sr.

IF    *Billy Pilkinton        Trenton        Sr.

IF    *Garrett Puyear        Trenton        Sr.

OF    *Taylor Dollgener        Sam Rayburn        Sr.

OF    *Malik Gaffney        Wolfe City        Sr.

OF    *Clay Feagin        Blue Ridge        Sr.

OF    *Dakota Bell        Blue Ridge        Jr.

OF    *Kyle Wylie        Trenton        Sr.

OF    *Lane Henderson        Trenton        Jr.

OF    *Kever Wylie        Trenton        So.

P    *Dawson Caldwell        Wolfe City        Fr.

P    *Dalton Underwood        Dodd City        Jr.

C    *Kaleb Hammett        Dodd City        Jr.

C    *Justin Wilkinson        Wolfe City        Sr.

U/DH *Dalton Eaves        Blue Ridge        So.

*Unanimous selections


IF    Colton Smith        Celeste        Sr.

IF    Lane McKinney        Blue Ridge        Jr.

IF    Keith Pendergrass       Bland            Sr.

IF    Trevor Crane        Sam Rayburn        Jr.

OF    Bryce Brakebill        Trenton        Jr.

OF    Cody Wallace        Wolfe City        Fr.

OF    Cody Evans        Celeste        Jr.

P    Klayton Keeton        Sam Rayburn        Jr.

P    Colby Gore        Campbell        Jr.

C    Tim Herman        Celeste        Sr.

DH/U Justin Hines               Bland            Sr.

DH/U    Trenton Daugherty     Celeste        Jr.


Trenton: Ben Minter, Jr.; Nick Jones, Jr.

Sam Rayburn: Jake Carson, Fr.; Colton Lester, Jr.

Wolfe City: Trentin Turney, So.

Dodd City: Dakota Brown, Jr.; Zane Dockery, So.; Holden Horton, So.

Celeste: Austin Shatto, Sr.; Nathan Butcher, Jr.

Campbell: Jacob Camp, Jr.; Chris Wilson, Sr.

Bland: Jack Phillips, So.; Matthew Humprhey, Fr.

Blue Ridge: Jason Price, Fr.; Tracey Lunch, Sr.; Brevin Wiggins, So.