The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

March 5, 2013

Learning to dance in the rain

Nobody ever said that life was supposed to be easy. We weren’t promised that there would never be any bumps in the road. We all face adversity at some point.

Just as I develop my physical muscles by lifting weights and running sprints, I developed my character muscles by overcoming challenges and adversity. At 16, I have had to deal with my fair share of adversity.

Losing my father at the young age of 3 in a plane crash was devastating to both my mother and myself.Instead of letting tragedy destroy us, we bonded and fought through the horror to overcome our loss together.

There is no life without pain, without loss, but the greatest human quality is our ability to persevere, to walk through the fire and come out better, stronger than before. As author and speaker Vivian Green once said, “Life isn’t about waiting for the storms to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

 We all strive to have a “normal” life.  What we realized through our tragedy is that we are now living a “new normal” life.  My mother and I learned to never give up and to do even minor tasks on our own.  

Whether that was loading firewood before the big blizzard, fixing the leaky toilet, or chasing the rabbit out of our house, we learned together to do things that men might do in other families.  I want to stress to others that are experiencing the storms of life, to find that “anchor” in their lives.  

Whether that person is a parent, a sibling, a best friend, someone in their church, or a trusted teacher, that person can lend a hand or just be a good listener in tough times.

It was a difficult time for us, but we never let our tragedy get in the way of living. It wasn’t easy, but living each day to its fullest is a personal choice that one must make everyday. To those survivors like me, I want to be able to share the message to not regret the past, for without the past, there is no future.

I’ve always been a very positive and forgiving person, and I know the importance of having a positive mental attitude. It is not to ask “Why me?”, but to ask, “What is the next step for myself and my family?”  

Whether your family is experiencing a tragedy or a major life changing event, talking about it together, with a school counselor, or an “anchor” in your life can be the first step in healing.  

I’ve learned that you never “get over your tragedy”, but you learn to live with it day to day!  When you come to a bump in the road of your life, know that there is always a way through so long as you take action to love, persevere and stay strong.

Lackey is Miss Hunt County’s Outstanding Teen 2013.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide