The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Breaking News

Opinion

February 3, 2013

Hoping for Super Sunday

OK, so, obviously, I was wrong.

The Denver Broncos won’t be the winner of the Super Bowl today and Peyton Manning won’t be the MVP. So, like I said, I already have one of my “Fearless Predictions” for this year wrong. Already.

Anyway, I don’t know if I will be watching the big game. I mean, I have no real love for the Baltimore Ravens and I will never forgive the San Francisco 49ers for “The Catch”, so I have no vested interest in who wins.

I may watch the contest, or parts of it, simply because it is the last football game for about six months or so, the Super Bowls have been pretty competitive over the years and, like them or not, these are two really talented teams.

Plus, there are all the trailers for the big upcoming movies to catch, not to mention all of the spiffy commercials that the advertisers are able to dream up for this event, while lulling us to sleep the rest of the year.

And Beyoncé is scheduled to ... perform ... during the halftime show, so it should be pretty interesting all the way around.

But as I have mentioned over the years, I am the sole professional football fan within the walls of the Kellar Estate and certainly the only Dallas Cowboys fan.

Despite my best attempts, neither my wife Vida nor my daughter Jaylynn have shown any interest in the sport. Our son Jason, 6, will sit down and watch a few minutes with Dad, before pleading with him to change the channel to Spongebob, after which he will tell me everything that is about to happen, because he has seen this exact same episode one thousand times. Already.

So even if I had a direct connection to the game, I would likely be outnumbered in getting a chance to watch it on the big screen in the den. And there is little sense in watching the biggest football game of the year on the tiniest television in the Estate, the one which sits on the kitchen counter.

Still, even if I miss the game, I am looking forward to a great Sunday, as Vida has obtained a line-up of movies for our enjoyment and we plan on having a nice spread of munchies available.

 That, and the real enjoyment of spending any day off is getting to do so with my family, whether it is catching the biggest game of the year, watching a blockbuster we didn’t get to see in theaters, or seeing Spongebob do that same annoying thing again and again and again.

The commercials and trailers? Almost all of them will be online tomorrow, the game’s highlights will be on the sports shows tonight and Beyoncé is on the radio pretty much every time I turn it on.

Maybe next year will be different. Twelve months from now, I might be getting ready to take over the remote control in the den and fend off all attackers, in order to watch the Cowboys claim their next Super Bowl, as I find myself surrounded by chips and pretzels.

Hey, it can happen. It may not be likely, but anything’s possible.

Now that would be Super.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide