The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Keep your eyes on the prize

— We’re now midway through January and everyone is back to work and school, starting to settle again into a routine. Now is the time that we need to take a moment to reassess where we are in reaching out goals.

If you have been sticking to a training program, eating healthier, saving money, not smoking, or whatever the goal was that you set for yourself, congratulations! If you have started to identify barriers that may get in your way, now is a great time to be mindful of that and to decide how you are going to overcome things that – if not given attention – may keep you from living the life that you want.  

For me, I personally struggle with getting enough quality sleep to have the energy each day to excel in my work, my training program and have time to spend with my friends and family (who all know I can never stay awake if I sit on the couch to watch a movie). So, for me, I try to find ways to get to sleep at least nine hours before I leave the house in the morning, fall asleep once I get in bed, and stay asleep for the night.  

Since I am aware of that being a barrier to reaching my goals and having the life I want, I have found ways to improve that part of my life. What are some things that you are struggling with or foresee as something that may get in your way if you let it?

Keep your eyes on the prize and stay focused on the goal and reasons that you want to achieve it.  Give yourself rewards for making progress, or checking things off of your action step “to-do” list.  

Finding support and resources is an important part of overcoming your barriers. Do you have someone in your life that supports and encourages you? Do you need coaching or information and education? Do you need someone to help motivate you or someone to be accountable to? If so, let me know how I can help. Please feel free to contact me, I am always here to help and to find you the resources that you need to be successful.

Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide