The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Keep your eyes on the prize

— We’re now midway through January and everyone is back to work and school, starting to settle again into a routine. Now is the time that we need to take a moment to reassess where we are in reaching out goals.

If you have been sticking to a training program, eating healthier, saving money, not smoking, or whatever the goal was that you set for yourself, congratulations! If you have started to identify barriers that may get in your way, now is a great time to be mindful of that and to decide how you are going to overcome things that – if not given attention – may keep you from living the life that you want.  

For me, I personally struggle with getting enough quality sleep to have the energy each day to excel in my work, my training program and have time to spend with my friends and family (who all know I can never stay awake if I sit on the couch to watch a movie). So, for me, I try to find ways to get to sleep at least nine hours before I leave the house in the morning, fall asleep once I get in bed, and stay asleep for the night.  

Since I am aware of that being a barrier to reaching my goals and having the life I want, I have found ways to improve that part of my life. What are some things that you are struggling with or foresee as something that may get in your way if you let it?

Keep your eyes on the prize and stay focused on the goal and reasons that you want to achieve it.  Give yourself rewards for making progress, or checking things off of your action step “to-do” list.  

Finding support and resources is an important part of overcoming your barriers. Do you have someone in your life that supports and encourages you? Do you need coaching or information and education? Do you need someone to help motivate you or someone to be accountable to? If so, let me know how I can help. Please feel free to contact me, I am always here to help and to find you the resources that you need to be successful.

Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide