The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Breaking News

Opinion

December 29, 2012

Surviving another Christmas

The Kellar Estate made it through Christmas — and the Great Christmas Snowstorm of 2012 — in one piece.

Vida, my wife and the Super Supreme Santa Spotter at the Estate, and I spent the hours between Christmas Eve and Christmas morning crashed on the couch and love seat in the den, watching videos until we dozed off, worn out from the previous evening’s merriment.

We had our daughter Jaylynn, 13.5, and our son Jason, 6, bunk together in Jaylynn’s room and, once Jason finally used up his last spark of pre-Christmas nervous energy, the entire Estate finally settled in for a winter’s nap.

Of course our son — for whom it takes an act of Congress and 12 pipers piping in order to get up on time on a school day — was wide awake before dawn in anticipation of the joy ahead. He was assisted by the powerful thunderstorms blowing into town, which also spooked the dogs — Bosco, Overgrown Schnauzer Puppy and Millie, the Spaniel-Mix Dust Mop with Legs.

About 30 minutes later, after Vida’s mom Reba and Aunt Pam arrived, came the great unveiling. Jason was overjoyed that he received a new bike, a Hex Bug Nano set and an Alien Autopsy game. But what really thrilled him was the remote control helicopter, an item for which he had been begging and pleading for weeks.

I made it clear to Jason that, no matter how much he insisted that he knew exactly how to operate the helicopter, that he should watch me use it first, just to learn the proper method of utilizing the controls.

Jason then calmly watched as his Dad immediately sent the helicopter crashing into a wall.

Jaylynn, our bookworm, received a Kindle e-reader and a Kindle gift card, neither of which she put down during the rest of the day. She also received a new Sims game for her computer, which meant her smile was from ear to ear.

Later in the day our son Nick and his girlfriend Heather came for dinner and, immediately afterward, a cutthroat game of “Phase 10” with Vida, Reba and Pam.

Vida and I had intended on going to the movies Tuesday. But as the card game broke up and people started packing up Christmas leftovers to take home, the mixture of snow and rain outside had turned into something more closely resembling the weather conditions at Santa’s North Pole workshop, leading us to cancel our movie plans.

Everyone made it home safely and the rest of the day was spent recovering from the holiday chaos, as we realized once again that the Kellar Estate had enjoyed another very Merry Christmas.

Of course, now the planning starts for next year’s holiday ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide