The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

November 4, 2012

Get out and vote

On Friday, we learned that Hunt County voters set a new record, casting more than 13,000 ballots in early voting — more than ever before.

Let’s keep it up.

As more people take an interest in national politics, whether through Facebook banter, over a cup of coffee or around the dinner table, record numbers of voters are expected to turn out across America to make their choice known in Tuesday’s presidential election. We hope that’s the case here in Hunt County, too.

Part of the growing interest is because voters see this as a crucial election, one that pits the security blanket of government programs against the reality of fiscal austerity. Both candidates have their ideas about where that balance needs to be, and the country appears to be passionately divided between the Democratic plans and the Republican ones.

In fact, after a campaign season marked by negative attacks filled with misleading facts from both sides, many voters aren’t choosing to vote for any candidate. Instead, they’re voting against somebody. That says a lot about how bitter the world of politics has become and how cynical it’s made modern voters.

Here at the Herald-Banner, we won’t tell you how to vote. We don’t plan on making a presidential endorsement this year, knowing full well that our readers will presume us to be part of the “liberal media” or backing the “conservative agenda,” depending on which side of the fence they view us from.

The truth is that we’re a small-town paper staffed by people with political views that most likely match those of the whole community. We don’t always agree on national politics, nor are we presumptuous enough to think that our opinions on the president matter to anybody. Voters are smart enough to make up their own minds.

And that brings up an important point.

Don’t just vote. Vote with purpose. Vote with solid information. Vote with knowledge.

We hope you’ll look closely at each of the candidates for local, state and national races. In the information age, there is more information available than most voters know what to do with. We hope you’ll sift through it, find what’s important to you, and weed out the irrelevant nonsense that is the hallmark of today’s politics.

Please vote, and do so while fully informed.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide