The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

March 23, 2014

New stuff for spring at Estate

Just considering all of the new stuff going on around here this spring ...

— First off, I have a new car to drive. Vida, My Wife and the Top Tier Potentate of Transportation at the Estate, and I have been sharing the usage of the Kellar Estate Mobile News Truck/Miss Vida’s Playtime Transport for quite a while now. My thought was to spend a little bit of money on a ... used vehicle ... which I could use just to drive to and from work and the Estate.

Vida, bless her heart, had other ideas and whisked me away to Greenville Mitsubishi one recent afternoon where, in no time flat, I became the recipient of a 2013 Hyundai Sonata.

Needless to say, I love it! And, of course, Vida’s ulterior motive is that she gets to borrow it on multiple occasions, which included this morning ...

 — Whle driving the Kellar Estate Mobile News Truck/Miss Vida’s Playtime Transport this morning, I took our daughter Jaylynn, almost 15, and our son Jason, 7.5, to the Backstreet Bash. Jaylynn spent the majority of her time meeting all sorts of new canine friends, while constantly campaigning for a new puppy at the Estate. As cute as Jaylynn and the puppies she found were, I was steadfast in my resolve against any new four-legged and fur-covered Estate residents at the moment.

Jason, however, has been asking for a turtle for a pet. I had been considering maybe setting up a small aquarium in his room, but I grew concerned when he spent much of his time at the Bash visiting the exhibit where the two giant tortoises were set up ...

— Vida has also taken up a new athletic endeavor. She has joined a softball team here in town. My wife plays catcher for “The Ropes.” The team had its first game of the season Friday night at the Greenville SportsPark and pulled of a convincing 6-2 win. Vida went hitless for the night, although she was obviously a key component of the victory.

Jason went with me to watch his mom play softball. While he didn’t actually see much of the game — as he was more interested in hanging out with some of his friends he found among the crowd – he did become something of an unofficial ball boy.

On three occasions a ball was hit above the backstop and landed behind the grandstands. Each time Jason instantly ran to retrieve the ball and then launched it back over the fence onto the playing field.

While I was suitably impressed with my child’s arm strength, I am had to remind him to (a) wait until there is a pause in the play before tossing the ball back and (b) let the players know that a ball is headed in their general direction. Fortunately, there were no reports of damage or injuries ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide