The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

September 22, 2012

Bragging on my favorite Girl Scout

Have to brag just a little bit here about my favorite Girl Scout ...

— Our daughter Jaylynn, 13.5, has had two big Girl Scout-related experiences this week. Friday evening, she was invited to be among about two dozen North Texas Girl Scouts participating in a question and answer session with Anna Maria Chávez, the CEO of Girl Scouts in the United States.

While at the session in Dallas, it was noted that Jaylynn was the only Scout there to have made the pilgrimage this year to Savannah, Ga., the birth place of the Girl Scouts, and to have acquired the corresponding patch on her uniform sash.

Jaylynn was scheduled to turn around and go back to Fair Park this afternoon and take part in the ribbon cutting ceremony to officially open the Girl Scouts 100th anniversary exhibit at the State Fair of Texas.

Yep, Jaylynn has some proud parents right about now ...

— A lot of the credit has to go to Vida, My Wife and the Super Supreme Girl Scout Supporter at the Estate. As Service Unit Leader for the Girl Scouts of Hunt County, Vida has strived to make sure that Jaylynn and all of the girls under her watch receive an opportunity to be involved in as many positive experiences as possible, so I am also extremely proud of her.

The Girl Scouts of Hunt County has a county-wide recruitment event scheduled one week from today, September 30,  from 2 until 4 p.m. at Aunt Char’s Kid Zone, inside the Greenville SportsPark.

— Our son Jason, who turns 6 in a little more than a month, recently presented me with his initial Christmas list. He wants some video games and his own computer, which we can understand. But then the list started to get a little ... different.

See, Jason is a big fan of those really cheesy movies they show Saturday nights on the Sci Fi Network, so he asked for a two-headed shark toy, and a two-headed crocodile toy. Then he tried to tell me about a walking, talking tomato that explodes, or something like that.

After a while, I think he began to run out of steam and I could tell he started choosing items that were on the desk in the living room.

“I want my very own candle, for my room, just as a decoration,” Jason said. “And I want my own box of tissues.”

Looking back on the list, I can almost guarantee Jason will receive the tissues, and maybe the candle. The two-headed shark and the two-headed crocodile? Well, we’ll see ...

— And a final shout out here to my son Nick, 22, who is the editor of the East Texan newspaper at Texas A&M University-Commerce. Nice work on the first few issues of the year! Keep up the good work!

 By the way, know any place to buy an exploding tomato?

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success Shark Sightings a Big Catch for Cape Tourism Native American Teens Get Taste of College Legendary Actor James Garner Dies Ukraine Rebels: Black Boxes Will Be Returned Recording May Show Attempt at Crash Cover-up
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide