The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

March 25, 2013

Where’s alleged warmer weather?

GREENVILLE — Granted, spring just started but the Kellar Estate is already awaiting the arrival of summer — especially since winter can’t seem to make up its mind whether or not it wants to leave.

No, I am NOT and never will be a summertime person. Summer in Texas is a miserable, sweaty, exhausting five months between May and September. It is when electric bills claim more of our weekly pay than the amount we spend on food, and you still can’t get cool enough to sleep at night. There is nothing on television and the Estate is filled with our children and their friends, all of whom look at Vida and me to supply them with snacks and entertainment.

Even so, there are reasons to look forward to the days, weeks and months ahead. By summer, I actually mean warmer and sunnier weather in general, compared to the mercurial atmospheric conditions we have been experiencing lately.

Starting in April we will be making the annual Kellar Estate pilgrimage to the Scarborough Renaissance Festival in Waxahachie, for a day of walking, feasting and just hanging out. Instant stress relief.

In May will be a visit to Great Wolfe Lodge in Grapevine, courtesy of Jaylynn again being an amazing seller of Girl Scout cookies. That, and we get to celebrate Jaylynn’s 14th (yes, I know. I am shocked as well) birthday.

During the summer itself there will be another water park excursion, thanks to Jaylynn, along with the Hunt County Fair , July 4 parades and fireworks, and the Kellar Family Vacation to San Antonio. Our son Jason, 5, and I will be having a couple of bachelor’s weeks, as Vida, Jaylynn and several of the other Girl Scouts take a week’s break for camping and another where they head to the beach.

On top of all that, there will be a lot of big movies coming out this summer, starting in May with the new Star Trek and Iron Man films.

Hopefully, the Texas Rangers will resume their march to the post season, giving local baseball fans something to appreciate.

And, I am going to assume there will be plenty of opportunities for me to do some grilling during the months ahead.

All of the above are reasons why we are anticipating an exciting late spring and summer season, and why the warm and sunny weather can’t get here fast enough.

Of course this enthusiasm will last exactly as long as it takes to reach the first triple-digit afternoon high temperature and/or to receive the first true electric bill of the season.

But, we’ll take it for now.

Just a thought ...

Brad Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer. He can be reached at bkellar@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide