The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

November 5, 2012

Grateful for Halloween, fan club

As is the tradition at the Kellar Estate, I was honorably chosen (required) to take the children downtown to Halloween on the Square Wednesday night.

Our son Jason, who turns 6 on Tuesday, had talked all summer about wanting to attend as Batman for the fourth year in a row. But about a week before the event he decided he would rather go as Wolverine instead. Well last Sunday arrives and guess what, there were no Batman or Wolverine costumes to be found in the City of Greenville.

So, Jason decided to go as Iron Man. Fair enough.

Our daughter Jaylynn, 13.5, on the other hand had expressed no interest at all in trick-or-treating this year. No desire whatsoever. Until Monday night, when she apparently gave it some thought and decided we needed to get her a Ninja/Witch/Vampire-something outfit ... with a cape ... and a hat.

Vida, my wife and the Esteemed Empress of Emergency Halloween Embroidery, borrowed (stole) one my white T-shirts, drew the letter P in a couple places, rubbed some mascara around one of Jaylynn’s eyes and presto! Jaylynn went as a Black-eyed Pea.

(While I admire my love’s spontaneous creativity, I have to think it was also spawned just a little bit by a need for peace and quiet, so that I would be able to take two whining children who were desperate for candy off of her hands for a couple hours.)

Once downtown, we were thrust into a sea of humanity. I was watching Jason and his best friend Emilee, while Jaylynn hung out with her friends Ashleigh and Katie.

The hardest part of my night was trying to point out to Jason and Emilee that they needed to go to the back of the lines in order to politely wait their turn at the candy tables. Whenever I would suggest this, Emilee would stand and look at me as if I was speaking an alien language, whereas Jason would continue on undeterred and cut right to the front of the line. He would say “trick-or-treat” and “thank you” each time ... and if I didn’t keep an eye on him he would go back several times.

After a while, all of us were tired enough to call it a night and we headed back to the Estate. Jason’s bucket was overflowing, whereas Jaylynn and Emilee’s buckets were about half-full. Jason asked me to let him have his candy, but I insisted he wait until after dinner. Jason then tried to convince me that the cookie he received while trick-or-treating would be a great dinner, but he was unsuccessful in this.

— It is good to have fans. Jacquelyn Park wrote this amazing letter to the editor about me (totally unsolicited, I promise) which appeared in Friday’s paper. The next day she brings me this huge, freshly baked pecan cake in the shape of Texas, just because. I shared it with the rest of the folks here at the paper and it disappeared in record time. But I did get to eat Brownsville and Texarkana. Thanks again Jacquelyn, they were delicious!

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide