The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

May 5, 2013

Summer starts with those blockbuster movies

Summer seems to start earlier every year ...

I’m not talking about the annual onslaught of Texas heat and humidity. That can take as long as possible to get here, and can skip us altogether as far as I am concerned.

No, I am instead referring to the crop of summer movie blockbusters. The Kellar Family is scheduled to head to the multiplex (do they even still call them that anymore?) this afternoon to catch the first of this year’s selection, “Iron Man 3”.

Now, it may surprise people to learn that, in my younger years, I was something of a comic book geek (OK, I know, it isn’t THAT much of a shock) and Iron Man was one of my favorites. So, naturally I was overjoyed when they started making movies out of some of the characters I followed so fervently, leading up to the ultimate comic nerd’s cinema experience, last summer’s “The Avengers.”

Vida, my wife and the Ultimate Movie Watching Co-Pilot at the Kellar Estate, agreed to go with me to a midnight showing of “The Avengers”, in part to pay me back for all those midnight “Harry Potter” events I had attended with her. Vida’s enthusiasm for super hero movies had pretty much been along the same lines as my interest in films about boy wizards.

They sound interesting and if done right can be a really good time, but neither of us was exactly an expert in our spouse’s field of interest. Vida was my translator for everything that happened in “Deathly Hallows” that I didn’t understand (which was a lot), so I was prepared to interpret all of the nuances of the various characters in “The Avengers”, in case she was wondering. To my surprise, Vida really enjoyed the movie and came away with an interest in watching more.

Which leads us to going to see “Iron Man 3”, which Vida is wanting to see almost as much as I am. The other day, they released a trailer for the “Thor” sequel which opens in November, and Vida sent me a Facebook post, letting me know we can go catch it when it comes out. So, I am a very happy husband.

But there are a LOT of movies coming out this summer which we are looking forward to. In the next few months, we will probably be buying tickets and popcorn for “Star Trek Into Darkness”, “Man of Steel”, “World War Z”, “The Wolverine”, “Elysium” and more. I also anticipate taking our son Jason, 6.5 to see “Monsters University”, “Despicable Me 2”, “Turbo” and “The Smurfs 2”.

Of course, whatever we don’t manage to see on the big screen this summer, we will be watching at home over the Christmas holidays.

But it is good to know that, once the unbearable heat does get here, there will be occasions to spend at least a little time in the air-conditioned indoors, watching movies which can help us forget that summer is waiting to melt us as soon as we walk out the door.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide