The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

May 25, 2014

In just a flash, she's turned 15

Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...

Jaylynn is 15.

Let that sink in for a minute.

This child of ours, who only yesterday was a tiny little thing in a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) at Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas, turned 15 Saturday. Jaylynn is completing her freshman year of high school, with excellent grades and is sticking to her guns that she wants to study to become a veterinarian someday.

Just a few hours ago, Jaylynn was a “micropreemie”, born at 23 weeks, weighing 1 pound and 4 ounces.

These days, she is hinting strongly at what type of vehicle we should get for her next year. Something bigger than my Hyundai, but smaller than her Mom’s Ford Expedition.

It was only a blink of an eye ago, that Jaylynn was spending months in an isolette, hooked up to all sorts of machines which kept beeping and booping, while friends and family members constantly prayed over her.

Now she is a beautiful young woman, who is almost as tall as her father and probably a lot smarter. Jaylynn tends to be on the quiet side, but apparently has lots of friends at school.

I could swear that it was only a few minutes ago, that Vida was providing “kangaroo care”, as we caught our breath at getting a chance to finally hold our daughter. I know it was just a few seconds after that, I was dancing with her around the Kellar Estate, singing every lullaby I could think of and inventing a few more, trying to get Jaylynn to go to sleep, while she seemed to be perfectly happy to stay awake all night with Daddy. And Daddy, even though he had to go to work the next morning, really didn’t mind staying up all night with Jaylynn, as they watched old videotapes and talked about the important affairs of the day.

Jaylynn still likes to stay up all night, although these days it is either playing games on the computer or listening to music on her phone. Occasionally, she will join me to watch a tape of “Big Bang Theory” late at night.

In just a flash, Jaylynn has come from being known as “The Baby With Attitude” (as she was referred to by the nurses in the NICU) to being known as an intelligent, funny and caring person, who is the apple of her parents’ eyes.

Jaylynn has also inherited her Mom’s common sense, backbone, loyalty and sense of adventure.

I am positive that all of this happened within the last few days. It couldn’t have been 15 years, could it?

I guess it was, and that means we have been blessed these past 15 years with an amazing child.

Happy birthday Jaylynn.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide