The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

July 26, 2013

Audie Murphy deserves measure

GREENVILLE — It seems like a no-brainer.

After all, Audie Murphy received dozens of medals both before and after his death in a plane crash in 1971, including the Medal of Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, and a Silver Star. He has even received medals from France and Belgium as an infantryman. The most decorated soldier of World War II, Murphy is eligible for the Texas Legislative Medal of Honor after serving in the Texas Army National Guard and is certainly worthy of the state’s highest honor.

So why is it taking so long to award it to him?

For the third time this year, a bill is moving through the Texas Legislature that would honor Murphy. Friends, family members, supporters and law makers have all supported the move. But, each time, Gov. Rick Perry has failed to sign the bill into law.

Granted, the Texas legislature and Perry were pretty busy during the regular session and the first special section (during which Rep. Wendy Davis filibustered a bill on abortion regulations that made national news). And a spokeswoman for Perry said that, although the governor received a bill seven days before the end of the session that would have allowed the legislature to award two Medal of Honors during each session instead of one, the governor was not informed of the bill’s urgency.

Sounds like someone dropped the ball.

Last week, the Texas House of Representatives passed a bill that would bestow the award to Murphy while calling for Perry to speed up the approval process. The bill will now proceed to the Texas Senate.

Our state’s political leaders need to get this done quickly, and Hunt County residents should continue to remind both our legislators and our governor that they need to take action (visit governor.state.tx.us/contact/ for Gov. Perry’s contact information).

It seems like our political leadership could take a break from discussing roads, abortion restrictions and school funding (all very important issues, to be sure) and come together to honor one of the greatest heroes America has ever known.

In doing so, we will continue to keep the memory of Murphy alive and send a message to the other men and women who have served or will serve our nation courageously to defend our way of life: we will not forget you.

The opinion expressed here is that of the Herald-Banner’s editorial board. The board can be reached at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide