The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

March 3, 2013

Benefits of shopping locally

Hunt County citizens are worrying about the economy a lot these days. It is understandable.

Year after year we heard of bailouts, fiscal cliffs and sequestrations, all items tied to our massive national debt and unfettered spending.

Locally, we still have a long way to go as we overcome the loss of local factories, retail establishments and restaurants like Covidien, Newell-Rubbermaid, Woodgrain Millwork, the College Corner Cafe and Mary of Puddin Hill.

Supporting locally-owned businesses is a powerful way to shore up the local economy. A pair of blue jeans purchased in town adds to the amount of sales tax our city collects, instead of making Rockwall or Dallas county richer. Sales tax is one of the two main sources of revenue for our city’s general fund, the money the city pay for everything besides water lines and bond debts.

Local business owners spend in the community as well — they hire county residents and purchase goods and services from other Hunt County businesses. And, naturally, a higher percentage of profits from Greenville and Hunt County retailers are kept in the local economy than national corporations.

There are often complaints about Greenville lacking shopping locations, certain restaurants, and entertainment options. But how can we expect our economy to grow if we continue to pour money into businesses across the nation instead of here at home? How can we expect more from our community if we don’t build into it ourselves?

Shopping with local merchants helps improve our community by providing jobs and increasing local revenue.

Our local businesses need our support. These establishments are not owned by faceless corporations, but your neighbors, friends, former classmates and other members of our community.

What have you done today to help our local economy grow?

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide