The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

April 27, 2014

Scarborough on my mind

— Just sitting here, hoping the worst of the latest round of storms pass us by ...

— In the not too distant future, the Kellar Family will be making its annual excursion to the Scarborough Renaissance Festival in Waxahachie.

Regular readers will understand that we NEVER miss the festival and over the years it has grown to where it is not just a family trip, but one in which we take an entire posse of our friends and their friends and their friends along.

Vida, my wife and the Supreme Sovereign Ruling Recruiter of Renaissance Festival Fun at the Kellar Estate, has assumed the position of travel agent, and campaigns to have as many of our compadres join us as possible. I think for the largest contingent we have had so far there was a total of 24 of us, but Vida is still counting heads in an effort to figure out how many are going this time around.

I had been a regular attendee of the festival since its second year, having visited with my friends. I took Vida shortly after we started dating and another Scarborough fan was born. During the 20 or so years since, we made converts of our son Nick (now 24), our daughter Jaylynn (about to turn 15) and our son Jason (7).

When we go, we try and arrive early enough to catch the pre-show before they open the gates, as many of the residents of the village stand on the rampart and warm up the waiting crowd below. It is always hilarious when we take first-timers, to see their reaction to the blast of the cannon when they officially start the day’s activities, and then to watch their faces as we enter the grounds.

We have always found the hours spent at Scarborough to be incredibly relaxing. We can forget work and the cares of the outside world as we feast on incredible food, watch great performances and interact with the characters.

Our friend Shelia Brantley Sunday — who is game to get up on stage whenever there is a call for audience participation — was the highlight of last year’s visit when she was actually hypnotized during one show. I still have that on video somewhere ...

So, if at some point in the not too distant future, you see me wandering around with a silly smile planted on my face and with the smell of turkey legs on my breath, you will know the Kellar Family made it to their favorite spring destination ... and we will already be making plans to attend next year.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide