The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

June 16, 2013

Being a father

Just sitting here, being a father ...

Yes, it is Father’s Day, when the Daddies in the world are to be honored for all of their patriarchal efforts, a day when we Fathers are presented with tokens of appreciation from our offspring, to say thanks for passing along our esteeme wisdom to the next generation.

You’re welcome.

As for me personally, I am not entirely sure what I have been able to bestow to our kids. I hope Nick, 23; Jaylynn, 14; and Jason, 6.5, feel they have benefited by simply having me around, as a shining example of what can result from having put in the hours and the work at being a Dad.

Because, to be honest, it is not an easy job. It has been decadesof helping with homework, dealing with nightmares, putting bandages on boo-boos and giving you the last $20 out my wallet for gas.

Occasionally, I also got to offer a few words of advice.

Of course, in reality, I also hope they are just glad I did not embarrass them in public too often.

I want them to know that being a Dad is a task I take very seriously. Yes, I am a goof and yes, I do make some really idiotic mistakes, but those mistakes were always made with the best intentions.

My wife Vida and my children and grandchildren will always be my top priorities in my life. They are the reasons I wake up and get of bed in the morning, the reasons why I work so hard and most importantly the reasons why I want to come home to the Estate each night.

If there is anything I have been able to teach my children, I hope that is the one lesson they have learned. I hope it is a lesson they never stop taking to heart, and one which they in turn will give to their own children.

Which brings me back around to Father’s Day. Yes, we really like the ties, the cologne and the cards. But if you really appreciate what we Dads have done, do us a favor and do the same for your children. It is the best gift you could ever give.

Of course, a new polo shirt would also be nice ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide