The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

April 21, 2013

Getting involved

There are some major developments on the horizon for Hunt County. You should be paying attention to them.

Two bond items on the May 11 ballot are huge for Greenville and Hunt County. The first, bond for the YMCA/events center, could potentially impact our community for the next 40-50 years. And, at $15 million, it is no small amount of money. We hope that the information included in this edition of the Herald-Banner will be useful to you come election day.

The second bond of $12 million is for repairing Greenville streets, a project that we have supported in our editorials and could have a strong impact on local quality of life and economic development.

And, while little has been said by the Texas Turnpike Corporation recently, the Blackland Corridor, a private toll road between Hunt and Collin County, is still in the planning stages. While the direct connection to the Metroplex could increase economic growth, many residents in the road’s path have vehemently protested its construction.

Regardless of how you feel about these incidents, local residents should be involved.

Becoming involved in the community begins with becoming informed. At the Herald-Banner, we do our best to keep you up-to-date on what is going on in your community, so the first step in becoming an informed resident is to read the newspaper, either the physical product, our e-edition, or our stories on our website.

But being informed also requires action. There are dozens of important meetings held throughout the county each month, from city council to school board to county commissioners court. Agendas for these meetings are made public days before they are held, and previews of the meetings are frequently printed in the paper.

One of the most powerful ways to be involved is by exercising your right to vote. Whether you agree or disagree with the bonds, the decisions of the city council or other elected officials, May 11 is the perfect time to let your voice be heard and impact the future of our community.

The worst thing that local residents could do is to apathetically ignore these potential changes. Greenville and Hunt County are evolving. It is up to us to determine what they will look like.

The opinion expressed here is that of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The board can be contacted at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide