The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

October 7, 2012

Feels like fall outside

Just loving the weather ...

— We have finally, officially, entered into fall, my favorite season of the year.

I have mentioned repeatedly in the past that I am NOT a summertime person. Winter can be pretty nice, if we don’t have to deal with excessive amounts of snow and ice. Spring is awesome, and comes in second place on my personal seasonal ranking scale.

But fall is when a whole lot of good stuff happens. The temperatures finally start going down, which means we can turn off the air conditioners at the Kellar Estate and start wearing long sleeves and sweat shirts.

 It is the season of cooking up soups, stews and chili in the crock pot; of steaming mugs of hot chocolate with marshmallows; of watching high school, college and Dallas Cowboys football; of finding the kids costumes and going to Halloween on the Square; of getting the family together for Thanksgiving; of Black Friday shopping; of tree lightings, parades, carols and the lead-up to Christmas Day; and of snuggling under the covers on crispy cool mornings.

— Of course, there is a LOT more going on during the season, especially at the Kellar Estate. During the first week of November our son Jason turns 6 and our granddaughter Lauryn turns 5, right before Vida and I will be celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary.

This past Friday night, Vida and the other local Girl Scout leaders took a group of the younger girls under their care to see “Frankenweenie” and then had a Halloween-themed lock-in at Kavanaugh United Methodist Church. And on October 27 is the annual Girl Scout Father-Daughter Dance.

— The rush of cooler air Friday night was an especially welcome event for our dogs, Millie the Spaniel-Mix Dust Mop with Legs and Bosco, the Overgrown Schnauzer Puppy. I took them outside for their nightly walk and they positively jumped for joy, as they apparently realized having round-the-clock fur coats was actually a good thing during the fall and winter, rather than a curse during a Texas summer.

On the other hand, with the aforementioned shutting off of the air conditioner and with Vida and Jaylynn not being around Friday night, every single noise in the otherwise silent Estate was freaking the canines out, which meant I did not get a whole lot of sleep during the evening.

Still fall is, to me, the best time of the year. It can be chilly and it will probably be hectic, but that just means there are going to be some really cool memories coming up ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide