The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

September 30, 2012

City shouldn’t rush into deal with Hawaiian Falls

GREENVILLE — Greenville is an ideal location for a big-time tourist attraction. Between Interstate 30, ample land available for development, and our close-but-not-too-close distance from Dallas, our city could attract lots of people from East Texas and the Metroplex who want to have a day of fun.

There’s just one problem. We don’t have a marquee tourist attraction to bring people here.

At first glance, the possibility of building a large, $11 million water park in Greenville seems to have potential to be a positive move for developing our city and attracting visitors — and their dollars — to this area.

If everything went as planned, the Hawaiian Falls water park could bring in more tax dollars and serve as a catalyst for turning Greenville into a serious destination for travelers. It could provide 200 jobs, albeit part-time, seasonal ones.

Rarely does everything go as planned, though, especially when business people have their eyes on public funds. That makes us skeptical of the proposal, which would involve our city going into debt to build a water park that would be operated and managed by a private company.

The proposal from Hawaiian Falls raises several questions that need to be explored thoroughly before the city even hints at signing up for this deal. Among them:

— Why is a city that claims to be strapped for money, and can’t even seem to find the cash to properly maintain its roads, thinking about spending millions upon millions of dollars on a water park? Where are our priorities?

— Hawaiian Falls has built similar parks in other locations. In these other cities, did the revenue estimates given in the early stages match the reality of what the city actually received? Or was it exaggerated as part of a sales pitch?

— If building a huge water park in Greenville is such a sure-fire, profitable business plan, why aren’t private banks lining up to fund it? Why do our public dollars have to be involved to construct it? Are taxpayers taking on the risk because a bank sees it as too risky?

All these questions, and many more, need to be explored before any decision is made. We’re skeptical about whether this particular proposal is the right one.

On the bright side, it’s good to see Greenville thinking big. We don’t mind the city making a gutsy, multimillion-dollar investment in the future so long as it’s done wisely, not by jumping on the first investment opportunity that falls into our lap.

If we had $11 million to spend on something — which may not be the case, if Greenville is as cash-strapped as the budget process made it sound — what would be the very best place to invest that money? Some kind of destination attraction could make sense, but we would prefer the initiative start with the city looking out for its own best interests and not with an outside business looking for profit.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide