The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

May 19, 2013

City deserves better voter participation

We recently posted the voter turnout for the May 11 municipal elections on our Facebook page. Only 14.22 percent of registered Greenville voters, or 1,793 people, participated in the democratic process. We received quite a few responses, many of them frustrated at the poor turnout.

Some of the responses, however, were an indication as to why the voter turnout was so low. Various residents complained about poor information, inconvenience, and a lack of “advertising” on the part of the city.

When did it become the city’s job to advertise on billboards that an election was going to be held? It is our job as citizens to know when municipal elections are scheduled, who is running, and what is on the ballot. It is our duty and our right to know what is going on in our city and how our elected officials are behaving.

Besides, the newspaper published more than 20 stories and three editorials regarding the elections. We covered every aspect of the ballot. We even printed a side by side comparison of the charter and the proposed amendments. These stories were also distributed on our website, Facebook page and electronic edition.

Ignorance is not an excuse. Neither is laziness. At the paper, we hear complaints from citizens every day about the city of Greenville. But, when push comes to shove, Greenville voters did not step up to the plate.

Actions speak much louder than words. If Greenville residents truly want change, if they truly want to improve their city, then they have to vote; regardless of if it is convenient or well-advertised.

Generations fought and died for the right to vote. The Revolutionary War, the women’s suffrage movement, the Voting Rights Act of 1965: all of these are instances of tremendous sacrifice by American men and women to secure the right to vote.

Greenville is very proud of its military history and outspokenly supportive of military veterans. Why then do Greenville citizens ignore one of the rights these men and women are fighting so hard to protect?

14.22 percent is completely unacceptable. We thank the approximately 1,800 men and women who took time out of their day to vote. Encourage your friends and family to do the same. And, impress on your children the importance of voting.

As a community, let’s get that number to a respectable level.

The opinion expressed here is that of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The board can be contacted at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide