The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

September 7, 2013

Turning the big ‘Five-3’ in style

It has been quite a week at the Kellar Estate ...

— To kick things off, as if the growing spread of gray hair wasn’t enough of a clue, yours truly is one step closer to the ranks of senior citizenship, as I notched my 53rd birthday Wednesday. Since I had to work, I didn’t get to celebrate too much.

The folks at the paper got me a card and a cake. Our daughter Jaylynn, 14, who is taking German in high school, wished me Happy Birthday in German. Vida and the Jaylynn and Jason, 6.75, got me cards (the kids got me one of those talking cards which goes on and on and on) and Jaylynn even baked me a batch of cookies!

As I write this on Friday night, Vida has promised to take me out for lunch Saturday to what was once my all time favorite place to eat: The Great Outdoors Sandwich Shop.

 I haven’t had a chance to dine at one for who knows how long, but when I was in college in Dallas I was such a regular I never had to tell the owner of my chosen location my order. I’d just give him a hand signal to designate which sandwich I wanted when I walked in the door and he’d have it ready for me by the time I got through the line to the counter. Throw in a bag of Fritos and a root beer and I was in lunchtime heaven.

— Thursday evening I got to fulfill one of Jason’s dreams. I signed him up for Cub Scouts. Jason has been wanting to be a Cub Scout pretty much ever since he realized all of the neat things his big sister got to do in the Girl Scouts.

That, and he wants to sell popcorn. Jason really, really wants to sell popcorn. So, get those checks ready ...

— And of course the finale of my birthday week comes tonight, when I get to watch the Dallas Cowboys start their season against the New York Giants. I am planning on having access to the big screen television in the den and Jason has actually shown a desire to watch the game with me.

 In fact, at the start of the last preseason game, Jason told me not to turn the game on until such time as he had retrieved my Cowboys foam finger and had put my Cowboys slippers on my feet. Wow.

OK, so he only watched about two minutes of the game before running off to bug Jaylynn ... but it was a nice touch.

So, that was how I celebrated my latest birthday. All things considered, it was one of the best I’ve ever had. But then, when I have such a wonderful family and friends, how could it be anything less?

Just a (slightly older) thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide