The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

July 21, 2013

Having best summer ever?

Congratulations Jaylynn Kellar! You’re having the Best Summer Ever!

Well, it certainly seems like it.

Jaylynn turned 14 right before summer started. Vida, my wife and the Supreme Summertime Scheduler of Invigorating Exercises and Activities at the Estate had determined that our teenage daughter was not going to spend the following weeks camped in front of a computer screen. So, Vida set out to find things for our child to do ... and she succeeded admirably.

I’ve previously mentioned how Vida and Jaylynn spent a week on South Padre Island as part of a Girl Scout trip. Last week Jaylynn took part in the Greenville Police Department’s Teen Police Academy. Part of the Summer of Safety, it is a program where teenagers spend a week receiving a background into the workings of the police department, everything from handling calls to wearing body armor.

Jaylynn was less than enthused about the idea when we broke the news to her, but reluctantly agreed to go alongside her friend Ashleigh.

As it turned out, as most of the activities took place at the police station across the street from the newspaper, Jaylynn and Ashleigh got to come over for lunch each day.

Jaylynn would fill me in with all of the details of the morning’s events and truly appeared to be having a fantastic time. The highlight was Thursday afternoon, when the teens broke into two teams to work at gathering evidence from a mock crime scene. Jaylynn’s job was to guard the perimeter and, if necessary, keep out the press ... yeah right.

I told Jaylynn that when I go to cover a story, I normally don’t give big hugs to the officers on the scene, but for her I made an exception.

But Vida saved the best for last for our daughter.

Next week, Jaylynn gets to spend a week living on campus at the University of Texas at Dallas, and experience what college life will be like for her in a few years. Yes, we will miss her terribly, but we know she will have a great time.

It won’t be easy dropping her off, but Vida and I understand it will be much easier than when it happens for real. And it will happen, because Jaylynn is going to college ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide