The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

March 31, 2013

Hunting for Estate’s Easter eggs

— Happy Easter everyone!

The annual Kellar Estate Easter egg hunt was conducted Saturday afternoon. Vida, my wife and Ultimate Organizer of Holiday Happenings at the Estate, pulled it all off in grand style once again.

Our son Jason, 5.5, was joined by his friends Emilee, Abby and Jaden and his cousins Natalia and Izabel. Vida, aided by our daughter Jaylynn and her friend Ashleigh, loaded the eggs with candy and scattered them around the grounds of both the Estate and our next door neighbor Belinda’s residence. Vida herself was in charge of hiding the Golden Egg and two Silver Eggs, each of which contained a cash reward inside.

After a few moments of frantic searching, each of the hunters claimed success and headed back to the Estate to look over their treasures, only to be informed they had missed an entire stash of candy eggs, which set off another mad dash.

Following the hunt, Vida arranged for the kids to decorate huge Easter egg cookies. According to Vida, despite all of the care taken by the artists in crafting their masterpieces, there was no chance to arrange a gallery display of their work, because the cookies were consumed immediately thereafter.

I asked Jaylynn, who is going to turn 14 in the blink of an eye, whether she snatched any of the candy eggs for herself before the hunt began. Our daughter shrugged her shoulders and said, “Nope. I’ll just steal some of Jason’s candy.”

And of course today, our family and friends are going to descend upon the Estate for the big Easter supper of ham, dressing, greens, rolls and the like.

Looking back, I realized that the tornadoes which struck last April passed over the area on the Tuesday before Easter Sunday. Of course, no such severe weather occurred as a prelude to this year’s holiday, but we do intend to thank God today for his continued blessings on our home, family and friends.

Here is hoping your Easter Sunday is as blessed ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide