The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

March 9, 2013

Wishing for spring break for parents

Just sitting here, trying to adjust to losing an hour of sleep overnight ...

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, there should be a spring break for the adult working class folks.

Once again, the younger generation gets to take a week away from school and its inherent responsibilities. Thousands of kids of various ages will be traveling to exotic locations for several days of fun and frolic or, at the least, will get to sleep in each morning.

Meanwhile, we parents get to spend the next week continuing to be on the job, just like yesterday and just like tomorrow, remembering the spring breaks of our youth ... as best we can ... and dealing with pangs of envy.

To be honest, the situation is not nearly as bad on my side of the fence as it is for Vida, my wife and the Designated Diva of Daily Daycare at the Kellar Estate.

Miss Vida’s Playtime is usually a pretty hectic place when school is in session, and is likely to be even more chaotic due to the added not-in-school-as-they-usually-are-during-the-daylight-hours presence of our daughter, Jaylynn, 13, and our son Jason, 6, along with an assortment of their friends who will be visiting and/or sleeping over.

I anticipate frequent raids on the refrigerator and kitchen cupboard for snacks, competitions over who gets to play video games and use the computer, along with spirited debates over which television shows or DVDs to watch.

Toys will be scattered across floors and beds will be left unmade. I also expect there to be even longer waits for the one, small bathroom at the Estate.

Meanwhile, I will be here within the relative calm of my desk here at the newspaper, typing out stories while hoping there is still an Estate to return to each evening.

Still, somehow I have to imagine we adults will survive another invasion and chuckle as we tuck our children into bed next Sunday night, knowing that they will be returning to their classrooms the next morning and realizing that, many years from now, they will be the ones wishing they could have just one more spring break.

Really, we don’t need to visit any exotic locations ... we’d be perfectly happy getting to sleep in each morning.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide