The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

April 11, 2013

No joy in covering tragedies

GREENVILLE — Car crashes. Shoot-outs. Natural disasters.

These are all tragic stories that impact us here in northeast Texas. These stories often dominate our headlines, along with stark photos.

Often, when we publish these photos or stories, we receive criticism or concern from a handful of readers.

At the Herald-Banner, we are cautious when we report on these kinds of stories. We talk to relevant officials and wait to release information until it is confirmed by a reliable, authoritative source. We do our best to get factual, pertinent information on our website and Facebook page as quickly as possible so that our readers are well-informed.

We take no joy in reporting on this kind of news. It affects us in the same way that it affects our readers. But covering these stories is an important part of our job for several reasons.

To begin with, negative news is still news. The car wreck near Cooper that is on today’s front page fit all of the criteria we use in making decisions on what to cover: it was within our coverage zone, it was timely, and it was relevant to our readership. The scene was disturbing; the images were emotionally-jarring. But they also accurately represented the tragedy that occurred Thursday morning.

Our readers expect us to report on what happens in Hunt County and the surrounding area, and that is what we promise: “Reporting the freshest news,” our banner reads.

The information we provide is also educational. Whether we report on a dangerous road or the effects of a tornado, our readers can use that information to prepare themselves to try and avoid future disasters. We frequently write follow-up articles that detail what caused these tragedies, and how these disasters could be avoided, or at least how their impact could be abated.

Finally, ignoring these sad stories would not make them go away. Our hearts and prayers go out to these victims, and we hope for a day when these stories occur with less and less frequency.

But no matter its nature, we will cover the news to the best of our ability — as fairly and as accurately as possible.

This editorial reflects the opinion of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The editorial board can be reached at editor@heraldbanner.com.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide