The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

April 11, 2013

No joy in covering tragedies

GREENVILLE — Car crashes. Shoot-outs. Natural disasters.

These are all tragic stories that impact us here in northeast Texas. These stories often dominate our headlines, along with stark photos.

Often, when we publish these photos or stories, we receive criticism or concern from a handful of readers.

At the Herald-Banner, we are cautious when we report on these kinds of stories. We talk to relevant officials and wait to release information until it is confirmed by a reliable, authoritative source. We do our best to get factual, pertinent information on our website and Facebook page as quickly as possible so that our readers are well-informed.

We take no joy in reporting on this kind of news. It affects us in the same way that it affects our readers. But covering these stories is an important part of our job for several reasons.

To begin with, negative news is still news. The car wreck near Cooper that is on today’s front page fit all of the criteria we use in making decisions on what to cover: it was within our coverage zone, it was timely, and it was relevant to our readership. The scene was disturbing; the images were emotionally-jarring. But they also accurately represented the tragedy that occurred Thursday morning.

Our readers expect us to report on what happens in Hunt County and the surrounding area, and that is what we promise: “Reporting the freshest news,” our banner reads.

The information we provide is also educational. Whether we report on a dangerous road or the effects of a tornado, our readers can use that information to prepare themselves to try and avoid future disasters. We frequently write follow-up articles that detail what caused these tragedies, and how these disasters could be avoided, or at least how their impact could be abated.

Finally, ignoring these sad stories would not make them go away. Our hearts and prayers go out to these victims, and we hope for a day when these stories occur with less and less frequency.

But no matter its nature, we will cover the news to the best of our ability — as fairly and as accurately as possible.

This editorial reflects the opinion of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The editorial board can be reached at editor@heraldbanner.com.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide