The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

May 9, 2013

Moore’s arrest could lead to closure, healing

When news broke Tuesday that a man had been charged with the 2012 murder of Greenville teenager Alicia Moore, we received strong reactions from local readers.

Understandably, most were angry, and many expressed violent feelings toward Michael Vincent Moore, Alicia’s uncle, who has been charged with capital murder. These responses reflect the pain, anger and fear that Alicia Moore’s murder has created in our community.

Our thoughts and prayers go out to the family of Alicia Moore. We hope that, while painful, this new development will help provide closure and, eventually, peace.

As this tragedy also affected all Greenville residents in some way, the following months will serve as an opportunity to see justice done and allow Greenville to begin healing.

Local law enforcement stepped up to the plate with this arrest. We applaud them for their efforts. Now, the duty moves to local prosecutors to ensure that justice is served.

While the evidence linking Moore to the murder seems substantial, it is always important to remember that our justice system operates on the presumption that everyone is innocent until proven guilty. Michael Moore will receive his day in court, and will have an opportunity to defend himself against these charges. We should not presume him guilty.

If convicted, however, Michael Moore deserves prosecution to the full extent of the law.

We echo the thoughts we expressed in our editorial last Friday. We cannot grow complacent or apathetic. We simply cannot allow Greenville to gain a reputation as a place where kidnappers and murders can operate with no fear of repercussions.

We still live in dangerous times, and we must work together as a community to protect our children. By remaining vigilant, we may be able to prevent future tragedies. As a community, this is the most important thing for us to take away from this tragedy.

The opinion expressed here is that of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The board can be reached at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide