The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

November 18, 2012

Anticipating day full of thanks

Here we are again, a few days away from Thanksgiving, so it is time to again pause and make a list of those things for which the folks at the Kellar Estate are thankful.

— First, I want to thank God for allowing our family members and friends to come through the past 12 months since the last Thanksgiving intact.

— I am grateful for the opportunity to gather together with those family members and friends again Thursday, to enjoy what promises to be a fantastic Thanksgiving feast and then to watch football on the big screen television in the den.

— I am thankful for having a roof over our heads, as we paid off the Kellar Estate’s mortgage this year. It may not be the prettiest house on the block, and there is never an end to the work which needs to be done, but we can rightfully say it belongs to us.

— I always want to give thanks for my wife, Vida, who has made my life worth living and for our family; our sons Nick and Jason, our daughter Jaylynn and our granddaughter Lauryn, for they are the reasons why I work so hard.

— I am even thankful for our pets; Bosco the Oversized Schnauzer Puppy, Millie the Spaniel Mix Dust Mop with Legs and Farnsworth, the Estate’s Attack Cat.

— And finally I am grateful to be in a place in my life that while I may not have everything I could ever want, I appreciate the fact that I want everything I have, and that what I have is everything I will ever need.

— Not much more space here, but I have to close with the Kellar Thanksgiving Day song:

This Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving

Save your bread

Save your bread

Shove it up your turkey

Shove it up your turkey

Make sure he’s dead

Make sure he’s dead

From the Kellar Estate to yours, may you have the most thankful of holidays!

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide