The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

November 18, 2012

Anticipating day full of thanks

Here we are again, a few days away from Thanksgiving, so it is time to again pause and make a list of those things for which the folks at the Kellar Estate are thankful.

— First, I want to thank God for allowing our family members and friends to come through the past 12 months since the last Thanksgiving intact.

— I am grateful for the opportunity to gather together with those family members and friends again Thursday, to enjoy what promises to be a fantastic Thanksgiving feast and then to watch football on the big screen television in the den.

— I am thankful for having a roof over our heads, as we paid off the Kellar Estate’s mortgage this year. It may not be the prettiest house on the block, and there is never an end to the work which needs to be done, but we can rightfully say it belongs to us.

— I always want to give thanks for my wife, Vida, who has made my life worth living and for our family; our sons Nick and Jason, our daughter Jaylynn and our granddaughter Lauryn, for they are the reasons why I work so hard.

— I am even thankful for our pets; Bosco the Oversized Schnauzer Puppy, Millie the Spaniel Mix Dust Mop with Legs and Farnsworth, the Estate’s Attack Cat.

— And finally I am grateful to be in a place in my life that while I may not have everything I could ever want, I appreciate the fact that I want everything I have, and that what I have is everything I will ever need.

— Not much more space here, but I have to close with the Kellar Thanksgiving Day song:

This Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving

Save your bread

Save your bread

Shove it up your turkey

Shove it up your turkey

Make sure he’s dead

Make sure he’s dead

From the Kellar Estate to yours, may you have the most thankful of holidays!

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide