The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

August 4, 2013

Signs that summer can’t last forever

August is absolutely the worst time of year in Texas, but there is hope ...

— Yes, we are in the middle of the hottest time of the year, where it becomes a broken record to say that it rose to 100 degrees or more every afternoon, a time when it is impossible to do anything outside except swim or sweat and the month when it comes down to a decision about whether you eat this week or leave the air conditioning on long enough to sleep.

But there are some indicators that conditions will soon improve for the better.

— For one thing, Dallas Cowboys football starts for the season with the Hall of Fame game tonight! Yes, it is the first game of the preseason, which means 98 percent of the game will be played by people we don’t know and will likely never see in a Cowboys uniform once the regular season starts.

And true, there is a good chance the Cowboys will have another 8-8 record and miss the playoffs again,  but it is football, the ultimate fall sport, which means that the start of the season and the arrival of cooler temperatures are only a few weeks away.

— Another positive sign came this morning, when Vida — the Supreme School Supplies Shopper at the Kellar Estate — ventured out to the local stores and purchased just about everything our son Jason, 6.5, will need for the first grade in the upcoming semester. Now all we have to worry about is shopping for school clothes ...

— With the imminent arrival of the football season and the start of school, that means summer cannot last more than another six weeks or so.

That first cool front of the fall will be greeted with a tremendous Huzzah! from all of the people who live in Texas and will be followed in short order by Rally ‘Round Greenville, Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

North Texas can then be expected to experience its standard three weeks of winter during the start of 2014, before it is once again time to start thinking about bathing suits, extra strength deodorant and summer vacations.

— So all I can say friends is, hang in there. Summer is not going to last forever and as a bonus, the next handful of weeks will be the ones which we tell our grandchildren about in a few years, when we begin each story with, “What? You think this is hot? Well, I remember back in August 2013 ...”

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide