The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

February 12, 2014

Gun control not answer to problem

Newtown, Aurora, Columbia: violent shootings across the country have placed a national spotlight on the issue of gun control, a decades-old debate that pits our gun rights as codified in the Constitution against legislation that would limit our access to firearms and, theoretically, the likelihood of violent gun incidents.

Locally, statewide and nationally, gun violence has proven to be a highly emotional topic that dominates our national discourse. Proponents of more stringent gun regulations point out the relative ease at which firearms and ammunition, including so-called “assault-style” weapons, can be purchased.

But increasing gun control is not the answer to this problem. Laws that would inhibit or prevent gun ownership for millions of law-abiding American citizens would do little to curtail the illegal sale of firearms.

Add to this the fact that many perpetrators of gun violence would still have had access to guns even with more stringent laws, both here in Northeast Texas and nationally, and it is clear that more legislation will not reduce the amount of violent incidents.

While we can never completely stop these incidents from occurring, we can take steps at the local and state level to curtail their frequency.

In our own communities, we must take responsibility for our family members, neighbors and co-workers that exhibit signs of mental illness and point them toward help, including Local Mental Health Authorities (LMHA). A list of LMHA’s can be found on the Texas Department of State Health Services Mental Health and Substance Abuse Division.

Additionally, our state must commit more resources to enhance and maintain the mental health services that it provides to Texas residents. While Texas spends a considerable amount of money each year on mental health services, our state has ranked near the bottom in per-resident spending in the same category.

Texans on average value fiscal responsibility and small government. But city and county governments are ill-equipped to deal with mental illnesses and the cost associated with such care. Perhaps by destigmatizing treatment for mental illnesses, and increasing the availability and scope of treatment options, Texas can reduce the frequency of violent incidents.



This opinion reflects that of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The board can be reached at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide