The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

February 2, 2014

Warming up old crystal ball again

Time once again to peer into the mists of the future and make my fearless predictions for what lies ahead for Greenville and Hunt County.

As always, I must explain that I am not a fortune teller and started this exercise 14 years ago as a joke, in comparison to all of the “serious” tabloid magazine articles which would crop up at the start of each year.

At this point in 2013 I had compiled a record of 77 correct predictions and 52 wrong guesses. Not bad.

For 2013 I had predicted:

— At least one more major positive industrial announcement, a big one, inside Greenville coming in the first six months of the year. Actually there were two big announcements — Fritz Industries and International Grains and Cereal — but they both occurred during August. So, I can count that as one right and one wrong, I guess.

— The Dallas Cowboys would make the playoffs. Um, nope, I was wrong on that score again.

— Local unemployment would continue to remain well below 8 percent for the entire year and could drop even more by the end of 2013. Unemployment rose to 7.4 percent in June, then fell for the next six straight months. I was right on that one.

— There would be a major, giant, HUGE announcement concerning an economic development project in Hunt County, but not necessarily inside Greenville, this year. Well, aside from the aforementioned Fritz and International Cereal stuff, I don’t know what I was seeing here. I got this one wrong.

— Voters in May would approve the sale of bonds for a new Greenville YMCA along the Monty Stratton Parkway. This I got right.

— I believed the Denver Broncos would win the Super Bowl last year, with Peyton Manning named as MVP. OK, obviously I got that one wrong ... for last year.

Which brings my record to 80 correct predictions and 56 wrong wild guesses.

Now, for 2014 I see:

— Splash Kingdom opening to rave reviews in mid-to-late June.

— The Denver Broncos will win the Super Bowl this year, with Peyton Manning named as MVP.

— The Dallas Cowboys will make the playoffs. Honestly, it has to happen eventually, right?

— Greenville will go through another year without recording a murder.

— There will another positive industrial development announcement coming in the second half of 2014.

— A major retailer will make an announcement that it is coming to Greenville, but the word won’t arrive until at least fall of this year.

That’s about it for now. The old crystal ball is starting to cloud over. Remember, these predictions are for entertainment purposes only (hey, I was entertained) and are not to be used for wagering or any other money-making uses unless I receive a cut (kidding!).

Here’s hoping all your positive predictions come true this year.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide