The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

July 5, 2014

Why no to YMCA?

GREENVILLE — Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.  In 2013 the Greenville City Council put on the ballot the decision for the citizens of Greenville to determine whether they wanted to build a new YMCA/convention center with public funds.    The measure passed in a public election over one year ago but the Greenville City Council is still discussing whether or not we should proceed with the project.   At the time of the vote, I did not reside in the City of Greenville, so I was not able to vote.   I lived in the City of Greenville for over 20 years but moved to rural Hunt County in 2012.  I have owned and still operate a business in Greenville (23 years) and have paid or am paying more City taxes than the average citizen of Greenville.   I feel as a long time taxpaying Greenville citizen that I have the right to ask questions and get answers from our City government regarding this project – not just for me but for the Greenville citizens who voted for the YMCA.

 In October 2012, Dr. Jerry Ransom went to the City Council to form a committee of 15 people to investigate the possibility of a City financed YMCA/convention center project.   This committee eventually included over 20 of Greenville’s most prominent leaders and some Greenville’s most astute conservative financial experts.   They conducted a large number of meetings in a 4 month period.   In January 2013 the City Council unanimously approved putting the project up for vote:

 

Proposition No. 2

“The issuance of $15,000,000 general obligation bonds for construction of a facility to be owned by the City and leased to and operated by the YMCA or other public or private entity as a commercial activity community events/recreation center to be located in the Greenville Sports Park, and the levying of a tax in payment thereof.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide