The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

July 5, 2014

Why no to YMCA?

GREENVILLE — Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.  In 2013 the Greenville City Council put on the ballot the decision for the citizens of Greenville to determine whether they wanted to build a new YMCA/convention center with public funds.    The measure passed in a public election over one year ago but the Greenville City Council is still discussing whether or not we should proceed with the project.   At the time of the vote, I did not reside in the City of Greenville, so I was not able to vote.   I lived in the City of Greenville for over 20 years but moved to rural Hunt County in 2012.  I have owned and still operate a business in Greenville (23 years) and have paid or am paying more City taxes than the average citizen of Greenville.   I feel as a long time taxpaying Greenville citizen that I have the right to ask questions and get answers from our City government regarding this project – not just for me but for the Greenville citizens who voted for the YMCA.

 In October 2012, Dr. Jerry Ransom went to the City Council to form a committee of 15 people to investigate the possibility of a City financed YMCA/convention center project.   This committee eventually included over 20 of Greenville’s most prominent leaders and some Greenville’s most astute conservative financial experts.   They conducted a large number of meetings in a 4 month period.   In January 2013 the City Council unanimously approved putting the project up for vote:

 

Proposition No. 2

“The issuance of $15,000,000 general obligation bonds for construction of a facility to be owned by the City and leased to and operated by the YMCA or other public or private entity as a commercial activity community events/recreation center to be located in the Greenville Sports Park, and the levying of a tax in payment thereof.”

Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide