The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

December 8, 2012

Talking about babies, Christmas decorations

No, we have not yet put up the Christmas lights outside the Estate, but there is a good reason ...

— Actually, if all goes as planned, I will be on the exterior of the Estate today, as the major cold front blows through of course, stringing up lights and placing decorations. This will entail dragging said lights and decorations out of the storage building in the back yard and from the attic at the Estate, so my Sunday is pretty much booked and dedicated toward making sure the Estate’s Christmas spirit is shared with the surrounding neighborhood.

— Fortunately — and again this is if all goes as planned — I won’t be alone in this endeavor. I will be working alongside my son Nick, who is about to turn 23, and Carl, who is the husband of Cassie, one of Vida’s best buddies. This is because the women folk are all going to be gathering during the afternoon for a baby shower to celebrate the impending arrival of Nick’s second daughter.

Yes, Nick is about to become a father for the second time, which means I am going to be a grandfather twice over. The latest little bundle of joy is due to arrive early next year, and Vida decided to organize the shower for Nick’s lady love Heather at our friend Howard and Sheila’s residence here in town.

So, while their home will be just filled to the brim with estrogen, the Kellar Estate will be where all of the testosterone can be found Sunday afternoon.

While I had intended for me and the guys to gather around the television for some man of the male gender bonding while watching the Dallas Cowboys game, Vida decided our time and talents would be better utilized in setting up the Christmas decorations. OK, fine ...

— Vida has been busy this week decorating the inside of the Estate for Christmas, while also planning for the baby shower. She has shopped and fussed and learned the intricacies of how to make a “diaper” cake (gee, that sounds yummy) and what kind of vermouth to use in the stuffed mushrooms to be served as appetizers among countless other details.

But the other night Vida noticed how many of the other homes on our block already have their lights and decorations displayed, which is when she came to the conclusion that we, meaning I, needed to do the same.

— Still, if we men folk are lucky, we may get finished decorating in time to catch at least some of the second half of the game. But that is if all goes as planned. And regular readers will know just how rarely that occurs at the Estate, even with added testosterone.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide