The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

September 1, 2012

One man’s thoughts upon turning 52

Nope, there is no way to avoid it. Tuesday is my birthday ... my 52nd birthday.

Long gone are the days when I could look forward to big parties with presents and chocolate cake. OK, so maybe I’ll still have some cake ... if my daughter Jaylynn, 13, and 5 year-old son Jason don’t eat it all first.

But what I have received during the past five decades (wow, am I that old?) or so mean I really don’t need any expensive wrapped gifts.

The other day Vida — my wife and The Person Who Drives Me To Commerce When I Have To Go During The Summer Because My Car Does Not Have Air Conditioning — and I were exchanging “I love yous” as we occasionally do and I mentioned how happy I felt, with my birthday approaching, that I ended up with a fantastic wife, loving family, job that I love and more.

“Those are all the things I wondered if I would ever achieve, back when I was just this geeky nerd of a kid,” I said.

“You are still a geeky nerd, dear, ” Vida helpfully reminded me.

“And you still married me,” I happily replied.

“Yes, I elevated your status, didn’t I,” Vida, with not a hint of sarcasm in her voice, explained.

“Yes, yes you did,” I agreed because, lets face it, when she’s right, she’s right.

I really have no complaints about my life, which involve being a father to three fantastic children, including Nick, 22, who is the editor at the East Texan newspaper this year.

Sure, there are a number of items on my “Dream Wish List” which would be nice to have; a newer car, a bigger house, Dallas Cowboys/Dallas Mavericks/Texas Rangers luxury boxes (or box seat season tickets, I’m not picky).

But if I never obtain any of these, I am still going to have a smile on my face. My little 1997 Mercury Tracer gets me around town just fine (and as I mentioned, I have a hot lady chauffeur to take me on longer trips) (heh heh), the Estate is really the perfect size for all of us, and I always have the best seats in the house for all of the big games (when my family lets me have access to the big screen TV in the den, otherwise I watch them on the little TV in the kitchen ... which is right next to the refrigerator) (heh heh).

So, all things considered, my life is pretty good, heading into my 52nd year.

Wow, am I really that old?

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide