The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

December 22, 2012

Enjoying gifts of the season

Merry Christmas!

It was not too many years ago that my wife Vida, the Cardinal Chief of Early Christmas Shopping, would have almost all of her gifts planned out, purchased and placed in hiding weeks, if not months, ahead of the big day.

I, being a Man of the Male Gender, have been programmed by nature to procrastinate unceasingly until a certain subdued panic sets in — usually the week before Christmas — and then go shopping.

Vida, love of my life though she is, would spend the weeks during the interim proudly proclaiming that both my and the children’s presents were taken care of and warning that I’d better get with the program ... in a nice, loving, Christmas-like way of course.

But the situation has changed somewhat as the kids grew older and more numerous, and with both my and Vida’s lives getting more and more complicated. Vida no longer had the joy of accessing layaways at multiple area stores and has had to switch at least some of her strategy to “Cyber Monday” and other Internet deals. She still was involved with making Christmas purchases during the last week.

As for myself since I have not had the time to really do ANY shopping as of today (Saturday), there is more than a little internal chaos setting in, as I realize Sunday will pretty much be my last chance. Gee, can’t wait to get out there ...

Still, I realize the presents we buy are only just tokens of appreciation. They really can’t convey the love we feel for each other in our hearts. Once the stockings are empty, the unwrapping complete and the Christmas dinner consumed, we will still have each other in our lives, which is what counts.

The toys may someday be broken or lost, the games will get boring (except Phase 10 for Vida, her mom and aunt) and the clothes will be outgrown, but we will still have each other. At least that is my Christmas wish.

As we all know, not every wish comes true and when they are granted, it is never forever. So we under the roof at the Kellar Estate try and make it a point to let those we love know how much they mean to us each and every day.

OK, maybe at Christmas we may spend a little more time and put it in just a touch more effort into the process ... I mean, ‘tis the season.

And let me close with this reminder of how all of us have already been given the greatest gift:

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16)

From the Kellar Estate to all of yours, have a very Merry Christmas!

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide