The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Breaking News

Opinion

July 12, 2013

Future governor needs to focus on education

GREENVILLE — Texans should be glad Rick Perry has decided to not run in the upcoming Texas gubernatorial election. Since he assumed the governorship in December of 2000, Perry has consolidated Republican power across the state and helped Texas’ economy grow into one of the strongest in the world.

But, after 13 years, it’s clear that Texas is ready for new leadership. While Perry led our state through one of the most difficult economic declines in our country’s history, his lack of emphasis on improving Texas schools and colleges has left our state’s school system in rough shape.

As our local superintendents have often pointed out, both in stories we’ve printed and before the Texas Legislature in Austin, our state does not equitably fund schools and places far too much emphasis on standardized tests. The result? The largest percentage of adults without high school diplomas in the United States, a midde-of-the-pack graduation rate and an unstable budget for schools and universities.

It isn’t that Gov. Perry’s education policies were bad, necessarily. It’s that he didn’t have a clear, unwavering commitment to improving Texas schools. Former governor George W. Bush made Texas education a priority, and while his federal No Child Left Behind Act has not had the effect he desired, it was clear that providing our state’s youths with a quality education that prepared them for college or vocational schools was one of Bush’s main goals.

Encouraging businesses to come to Texas is a great thing, but we must have an educated population ready to fill those jobs. Well-educated Texans benefit our economy and state in so many ways, including paying property taxes that build right back into the school system, while high school dropouts and others that have difficulty finding work are a strain on our state’s social services.

Perry is certainly not entirely to blame for the Texas school system’s current state. And, there are plenty of schools, both here in Hunt County and across the state that have been able to provide a quality education despite the funding and resource obstacles they’ve had to overcome.

But, after three full terms, it’s time for Texans to elect a new governor who can emphasize strengthening our school system through more sensible standardized testing, a better funding mechanism and a stable budget for both school systems and universities.

We hope that Texas voters make these attributes a priority when they vote in next year’s gubernatorial race.

This opinion expressed here is that of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The board can be reached at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide